What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 Reviews

May 19, 2019
This is rambunctious, silly, dry and deadpan, and I will never say "crepe paper" again.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 29, 2019
I've seen the first batch of episodes of this series. And they're all so clever and genuinely amusing.
March 29, 2019
The series is far too silly to qualify as a horror show, but there's a giddy thrill within that silliness whenever one of the vampires takes flight, or transforms into a bat, or munches on the neck of an unfortunate.
March 28, 2019
But while the look, the beats, and the premise are familiar, the TV version of What We Do In The Shadows expands upon the vampire lore established in the movie in some funny and insightful ways.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
March 27, 2019
It seems to me that What We Do in the Shadows has more up its sleeve than just re-creating the vibe of the original.
March 27, 2019
This is an appealingly low-stakes series that's content to be silly and mildly perverse, and that packs a lot of jokes into its half-hour running time.
March 27, 2019
Quirky, droll and surprisingly dry given its preoccupation with drinking, the show serves up an amusing riff on vampire lore, and as a bonus, living in Staten Island.
March 27, 2019
The drawbacks of immortality meet the farcical realities of present-day suburban life in this 10-episode series created by Jemaine Clement... is carefully crafted and hilarious.
Top Critic
March 27, 2019
The four leads are great, the jokes crisp and fast and funny, and the visual effects are employed just as effectively as in the movie, folded seamlessly into the handheld-camera aesthetic so they seem all the more uncanny.
March 26, 2019
The vampiric puns and gravity-defying slapstick go a long way, but attention must be paid to the resident humans, the still-beating heart of the show.
March 26, 2019
It fits perfectly into FX's off-kilter sense of humor, and actually gets a little funnier with each episode.
March 26, 2019
So yes, these vampires still suck -- but in a unique series that otherwise just tickles.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 26, 2019
If "Shadows" doesn't seem entirely necessary, it's perfectly fun. Its pleasures are in the goofy details.
March 25, 2019
Is it as consistently hilarious as the movie? No, but it's unfair to compare an ongoing series and a 90-minute film. And the laughs, when they come, are usually explosive.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 25, 2019
The cast sells every moment beautifully.
March 21, 2019
The show is a smart, irreverent spoof...
March 8, 2019
At times, it feels as though the show's main goal is to present witty wordplay voiced by a few memorable characters. But that can certainly be enough, not least when the show's mockumentary format feels, for the first time in a while, like something new.
March 8, 2019
What We Do in the Shadows becomes addictively, ridiculously funny - part droll look at everyday vamp-ness and part inspired family sitcom. This series won't be for everybody, but there's nothing else quite like it.
March 8, 2019
There's still room to grow, but Clement's adaptation gets a lot of the finer touches just right, straight off the bat.
Full Review | Original Score: B