What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 18, 2019
All the necessary components are there, but fails to capture the magical chemistry of its source material nor conjure a unique experience of its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 20, 2019
The series translates the original film's comedy into half-hour chunks, sometimes to a fault.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 27, 2019
Ironically, What We Do In The Shadows, a show about the immortal, is lacking something vital, and it may just be a pulse.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 21, 2019
What was a fun idea for a short film and an amusing (if limited) premise for a feature has very little cleverness left by the time it gets to this underwhelming series.
March 29, 2019
A great series that already aims to position itself as one of the comedy revelations of the season. As fun as it is wonderful. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 29, 2019
FX's breakout comedy is darkly funny and often surprising, but most of all, it's deeply unnerving.
March 30, 2019
The new series takes certain elements from the original 2014 film and takes them to even more bitingly clever places.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 19, 2019
A delirious feast of vampire comedy with nothing to envy its predecessor. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 18, 2019
What We Do in the Shadows subtly taps into the notion of its vampire characters as immigrants.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 3, 2019
Ultimately, What We Do In the Shadows shines because of its fun tone and excellent cast. Everyone brings their best comedy chops and bites into the fun concept.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 2, 2019
A darkly funny "vérité vampire comedy".
July 16, 2019
This intelligent comedy will end up being among the best of the year by its own merit alone. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 22, 2019
Simply put, it's dead funny.
March 21, 2019
It's a beautifully simple and creative piece of world-building in this Staten Island that's almost like ours - a brush with the mundane that's just close enough, it makes you wonder if you've actually known a vampire or two and never realized it.
March 12, 2019
Waititi and show writer Jemaine Clement craft a show that's witty and thought-provoking.
April 4, 2019
Pleasingly nothing has been lost in its voyage across the seas, despite a whole new cast -- including the smashingly funny Matt Berry -- the TV show has captured the same vibes and dry humour of the original.
March 27, 2019
The show generally gets stronger with each passing episode, especially when it breaks ground unfamiliar from the movie.
March 9, 2019
What We Do in the Shadow's "Pilot" does absolutely everything that a series premiere should. It brilliantly introduces a vibrant world and a cast of characters that you instantly want to spend more time with.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 11, 2019
Thanks to Clement and Waititi's expert guidance, Shadows' early episodes are chock full of quotable one-liners and majestically silly moments.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 28, 2019
The secret strength of What We Do in the Shadows is that where other vampire parodies might delight in skewering their subjects, in this one, the camera is always on our heroes' side.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 4