What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 18, 2019
What We Do in the Shadows subtly taps into the notion of its vampire characters as immigrants.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 12, 2019
Everything in this series works perfectly. [Full review in Spanish]
July 29, 2019
Nadja is the perfect foil for Laszlo's pomposity, but also shines when she gets to lead her own storylines.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
July 16, 2019
This intelligent comedy will end up being among the best of the year by its own merit alone. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 3, 2019
Instead of tortured, pouting True Blood-style vampires, this lot are like the dork-undead that Nosferatu might have met on holiday, and then regretted exchanging numbers with.
May 29, 2019
FX's breakout comedy is darkly funny and often surprising, but most of all, it's deeply unnerving.
May 19, 2019
A delirious feast of vampire comedy with nothing to envy its predecessor. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 19, 2019
This is rambunctious, silly, dry and deadpan, and I will never say "crepe paper" again.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 14, 2019
With all the riches of the vampire myth in literature, folklore, art and cinema to plunder, What We Do In The Shadows is visually arresting, smart and witty.
April 20, 2019
What We Do in the Shadows works. It truly, pardon the pun, doesn't suck.
April 17, 2019
It works exceedingly well, although Mark Proksch is so far the stand-out, as an energy vampire playing basically a version of Gary Cole's character in Office Space. He bores people, and feeds off their energy.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 9, 2019
Clement and Waititi have brought the mockumentary-mundane style to a hair-raising Gothic situation with felicitous results: Every week brings more opportunities to watch the undead be mortified.
April 8, 2019
The humor is still very dry and character-driven, and the show is simply delightful.
April 4, 2019
Pleasingly nothing has been lost in its voyage across the seas, despite a whole new cast -- including the smashingly funny Matt Berry -- the TV show has captured the same vibes and dry humour of the original.
April 3, 2019
Ultimately, What We Do In the Shadows shines because of its fun tone and excellent cast. Everyone brings their best comedy chops and bites into the fun concept.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 2, 2019
Great dark humor and horror in worthy movie followup.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2019
A darkly funny "vérité vampire comedy".
March 30, 2019
The new series takes certain elements from the original 2014 film and takes them to even more bitingly clever places.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 29, 2019
A great series that already aims to position itself as one of the comedy revelations of the season. As fun as it is wonderful. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 29, 2019
I've seen the first batch of episodes of this series. And they're all so clever and genuinely amusing.
Page 1 of 4