What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 Reviews

Page 2 of 4
March 29, 2019
The series is far too silly to qualify as a horror show, but there's a giddy thrill within that silliness whenever one of the vampires takes flight, or transforms into a bat, or munches on the neck of an unfortunate.
March 28, 2019
The secret strength of What We Do in the Shadows is that where other vampire parodies might delight in skewering their subjects, in this one, the camera is always on our heroes' side.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 28, 2019
It's the kind of meandering comedy series that's so pointlessly entertaining, so charmingly strange, you can't help but look forward to the next episode.
March 28, 2019
But while the look, the beats, and the premise are familiar, the TV version of What We Do In The Shadows expands upon the vampire lore established in the movie in some funny and insightful ways.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 28, 2019
An amusing, documentary-style look into their daily lives and what happens when their leader arrives in the New World to remind them of why they're there in the first place - total world domination.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.75/5
Top Critic
March 27, 2019
It seems to me that What We Do in the Shadows has more up its sleeve than just re-creating the vibe of the original.
March 27, 2019
This is an appealingly low-stakes series that's content to be silly and mildly perverse, and that packs a lot of jokes into its half-hour running time.
March 27, 2019
The show generally gets stronger with each passing episode, especially when it breaks ground unfamiliar from the movie.
March 27, 2019
There is nothing on television as giddily silly and laugh-out-loud funny a FX's What We Do in the Shadows.
March 27, 2019
[What We Do in the Shadows] now set in Staten Island, has a lot of the feel and some of the characters of the original, but very delightfully into oddball areas, such as local politics.
March 27, 2019
Quirky, droll and surprisingly dry given its preoccupation with drinking, the show serves up an amusing riff on vampire lore, and as a bonus, living in Staten Island.
March 27, 2019
The drawbacks of immortality meet the farcical realities of present-day suburban life in this 10-episode series created by Jemaine Clement... is carefully crafted and hilarious.
Top Critic
March 27, 2019
The four leads are great, the jokes crisp and fast and funny, and the visual effects are employed just as effectively as in the movie, folded seamlessly into the handheld-camera aesthetic so they seem all the more uncanny.
March 26, 2019
What We Do in the Shadows is smart, unique, and absurdly funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 26, 2019
What We Do in the Shadows is one of those conceptual comedies with a limited premise that you expect to die off at any moment, but it keeps coming as though it doesn't know how to die.
Full Review | Original Score: 80/100
March 26, 2019
The vampiric puns and gravity-defying slapstick go a long way, but attention must be paid to the resident humans, the still-beating heart of the show.
March 26, 2019
It fits perfectly into FX's off-kilter sense of humor, and actually gets a little funnier with each episode.
March 26, 2019
So yes, these vampires still suck -- but in a unique series that otherwise just tickles.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 26, 2019
If "Shadows" doesn't seem entirely necessary, it's perfectly fun. Its pleasures are in the goofy details.
March 25, 2019
Imagine The Office in comedic tone but set in a house full of vampires.
Page 2 of 4