The Twilight Zone: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Twilight Zone: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
December 26, 2019
The Twilight Zone has some entertaining episodes that achieve a certain element of surprise. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 6, 2019
Peele honors directly and indirectly the series. [Full review in Spanish]
Top Critic
November 22, 2019
The original "Twilight Zone"... addressed complex social issues indirectly at a time when network TV was mostly escapist. But television is different now... So simply updating the spirit of the original "Twilight Zone" just isn't good enough.
October 17, 2019
Peele and his colleagues are attempting to be socially relevant but much of it feels old.
June 6, 2019
The Twilight Zone is equal parts ominous and exciting, mysterious and enlightened. It's a beautifully produced series full of wonder and terror, and I believe Rod Serling would be damn proud of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 30, 2019
Is "Blurryman" the best episode of The Twilight Zone's first season? I'm finding it hard to come up with a better pick.
May 30, 2019
If there's anything we should expect The Twilight Zone to provide, it's killer endings. Yet for various reasons, almost every one of these first ten episodes stumbled over the finish line.
May 20, 2019
That premise is essentially the entire episode. Maybe that's all an episode of The Twilight Zone needs to go for, but it's also part of why I don't often gravitate toward these anthology shows.
May 10, 2019
The reboot of The Twilight Zone has had a few problems, to be sure, but the show has been at its best in this iteration when it's been at its most socially commentative, most notably in its two episodes that directly tackle issues of race.
May 2, 2019
"Six Degrees of Freedom" represents the new Twilight Zone's best attempt yet at telling a story that is not necessarily defined by its commentary and serves as something you probably wouldn't see on any other modern sci-fi series.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 2, 2019
So far, the scripts have been a disappointment, despite some effective choices in lighting, sound design and camera work.
April 22, 2019
A perfect illustration of reboot over mere remake, the updated episode...Nightmare at 30,000 Feet, recasts the story from a monster-on-the-wing horror piece to a more disturbing play on human trust and the ways in which the present shapes the future.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 19, 2019
I appreciate what Jordan Peele is trying to do with the update Twilight Zone, but so far, the payoffs have not been worth the effort.
April 11, 2019
At its best, The Twilight Zone examines behavior humans should never have developed in the first place.
April 9, 2019
Reboot of '60s sci-fi classic is overlong and underwhelming.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 8, 2019
The Twilight Zone reboot has yet to dazzle me but it shows a respect and affection for the original that's encouraging along with a willingness to reinvent that's promising.
April 5, 2019
Interesting timely subject matter, a bit stark and takes it time, but it gets under the skin and I'm intrigued to see more.
April 4, 2019
When Peele stays within the enduring traditions of the series and doesn't try to cater to the trends of the current day, The Twilight Zone works just fine in 2019.
April 4, 2019
This isn't really a reboot; it doesn't even qualify as fan fiction. With the exception of one superior episode, "Replay," it's hard to conceive that an artist as prodigiously talented and thoughtful as Peele is creatively involved at all.
April 4, 2019
As engaging as the series is, it also serves as an unsettling reflection of our troubled times-one that can no longer be ignored.
Page 1 of 5