The OA: Season 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The OA: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 16, 2019
The willing suspension of disbelief has to be earned, and from where I'm standing, The OA doesn't earn it.
March 29, 2019
Annoying. Gripping. But annoying.
March 22, 2019
Events, characters and half-formed ideas are thrown at the screen then abandoned in favour of fresh mysteries, the show infinitely rolling out a carpet of kookiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 16, 2019
The last episode of The OA spoke to me...I felt a wave of emotion, actually moved to tears because in that moment I saw that we are all looking for our purpose...
March 22, 2019
Just when you think you know what's going to happen next... something else completely different happens.
March 21, 2019
This isn't another Lost. There is method in The OA's madness.
April 1, 2019
Watching it feels like being immersed in an interactive experience while taking psychedelics.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 18, 2019
What makes the Nob Hill arc unique is that it offers a thought-provoking dive into the sci-fi realm, and goes beyond ghosts and jump-scares to encourage viewers to think while providing an unpredictable journey.
April 2, 2019
Marling and Batmanglij have created an intriguing universe, populated with sympathetic and real characters. Ultimately rewarding, The OA makes you feel proud to be TV viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
May 16, 2019
We'll cut to the chase. The OA Part II is a bad show when Prairie is onscreen. But! The OA is a good show when it focuses on a completely different narrative, a good old-fashioned formulaic Law & Order-type story.
March 26, 2019
It's with great joy that I can say that The OA's second season, which took nearly three years to complete, takes the seeds planted in the show's first eight episodes and lets them blossom into something close to a masterpiece.
March 22, 2019
Forty-two minutes into the 65-minute premiere, you'll get the answers you've been waiting for since 2016.
March 26, 2019
The second season continues to blur genres, jump into surprise directions, and thrill in its visual palette, but an air of pretension, and the occasional baffling moment, holds the show back from entirely resonating on an emotional level.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 28, 2019
The show is ambitious and wholly original, and pulled no punches with its sophomore season on Netflix.
March 26, 2019
The OA: Part II packs each frame so dense with detail, that not one second of the new season's more-than-eight-hour runtime seems wasted, expositional, cheap, or unearned.
Full Review | Original Score: A
April 12, 2019
The OA Part II was better than one could have ever imagined, its ingenuity and trust in its audience, coupled by the brilliant execution of its power duo, brought the series to new heights.
March 25, 2019
The OA reminds us it's natural to feel out of place, and tries to instill a little faith in what's to come. More, it wants us to really feel our feelings about it without the cover of jokes or irony.
April 1, 2019
This series has never been meant for everyone, but for those who are true believers in the OA, Part II will be a welcome follow-up to the first.
March 21, 2019
This time it feels worth it. And it turns out, if you were one of the viewers who believed, who left that door open for The OA all these years, you might have welcomed some bonafide, baffling magic into your home.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 27, 2019
It is probably a sign of how well-mannered the fanbase of The OA is that in the three days it took for me to finish it, no one said a word about its objectively insane ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 2