The OA: Season 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The OA: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 17, 2019
[The OA] manages to be stranger, more puzzling and even more addictively demented than the first season.
May 16, 2019
We'll cut to the chase. The OA Part II is a bad show when Prairie is onscreen. But! The OA is a good show when it focuses on a completely different narrative, a good old-fashioned formulaic Law & Order-type story.
May 16, 2019
The last episode of The OA spoke to me...I felt a wave of emotion, actually moved to tears because in that moment I saw that we are all looking for our purpose...
April 18, 2019
The OA is kind of genius, while simultaneously being incredibly silly. And you know what? I love it! I love its goofy, loopy vibe.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 18, 2019
The sequence with Old Night is what The OA does best. At first the scene is stunning, almost laughable, in its sheer oddity, but then the mood morphs, as it pulsates with existential terror and a sort of unnerving sexuality.
April 18, 2019
What makes the Nob Hill arc unique is that it offers a thought-provoking dive into the sci-fi realm, and goes beyond ghosts and jump-scares to encourage viewers to think while providing an unpredictable journey.
April 12, 2019
The OA Part II was better than one could have ever imagined, its ingenuity and trust in its audience, coupled by the brilliant execution of its power duo, brought the series to new heights.
April 2, 2019
Marling and Batmanglij have created an intriguing universe, populated with sympathetic and real characters. Ultimately rewarding, The OA makes you feel proud to be TV viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
April 1, 2019
Season 2 not only gives all the returning characters great material, but also finds room to introduce Karim (Kingsley Ben-Adir), the PI who brings a much-needed audience viewpoint - and an immediate likability - to the show.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 1, 2019
This series has never been meant for everyone, but for those who are true believers in the OA, Part II will be a welcome follow-up to the first.
April 1, 2019
Watching it feels like being immersed in an interactive experience while taking psychedelics.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 29, 2019
I wish more television was this unafraid to leave its audience fumbling for understanding.
March 28, 2019
The show is ambitious and wholly original, and pulled no punches with its sophomore season on Netflix.
March 27, 2019
It is probably a sign of how well-mannered the fanbase of The OA is that in the three days it took for me to finish it, no one said a word about its objectively insane ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 26, 2019
It's with great joy that I can say that The OA's second season, which took nearly three years to complete, takes the seeds planted in the show's first eight episodes and lets them blossom into something close to a masterpiece.
March 26, 2019
The second season continues to blur genres, jump into surprise directions, and thrill in its visual palette, but an air of pretension, and the occasional baffling moment, holds the show back from entirely resonating on an emotional level.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 26, 2019
I loved it. I did not expect 2019 to be the year The OA went from a show I ironically tell people to watch if they plan on doing mescaline to a genuinely joyful, wildly worth-it ride through what-the-hecksville.
March 26, 2019
The performances are so solid, the commitment to its kooky worldview so earnest, and the smorgasbord of sci-fi curlicues so endearing, sacrificing your expectations of plausibility feels like a worthwhile price of admission...
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 26, 2019
The OA: Part II packs each frame so dense with detail, that not one second of the new season's more-than-eight-hour runtime seems wasted, expositional, cheap, or unearned.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 25, 2019
The OA reminds us it's natural to feel out of place, and tries to instill a little faith in what's to come. More, it wants us to really feel our feelings about it without the cover of jokes or irony.
Page 1 of 2