The OA: Season 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The OA: Season 2 Reviews

Page 2 of 2
April 1, 2019
Season 2 not only gives all the returning characters great material, but also finds room to introduce Karim (Kingsley Ben-Adir), the PI who brings a much-needed audience viewpoint - and an immediate likability - to the show.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 18, 2019
The sequence with Old Night is what The OA does best. At first the scene is stunning, almost laughable, in its sheer oddity, but then the mood morphs, as it pulsates with existential terror and a sort of unnerving sexuality.
March 25, 2019
The OA truly comes into its own when you stop attempting to piece together the storyline and instead submit to Marling and Batmanglij's vision.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 26, 2019
The performances are so solid, the commitment to its kooky worldview so earnest, and the smorgasbord of sci-fi curlicues so endearing, sacrificing your expectations of plausibility feels like a worthwhile price of admission...
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 26, 2019
I loved it. I did not expect 2019 to be the year The OA went from a show I ironically tell people to watch if they plan on doing mescaline to a genuinely joyful, wildly worth-it ride through what-the-hecksville.
March 29, 2019
I wish more television was this unafraid to leave its audience fumbling for understanding.
March 15, 2019
You'll laugh. You'll cry. You'll cry from laughing or simply stare blankly at the screen as some of the weirdest s--- you've ever seen unfolds...
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 18, 2019
It's hard not to appreciate the grand scale of what Marling and Batmanglij are attempting to do, even if it's difficult at times to discern what, exactly, that's supposed to be.
March 25, 2019
This new season is even more ambitious than the first, tackling some heady concepts and delving into truly bizarre and mind-bending territory.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
March 22, 2019
This show is such a strange gift.
April 18, 2019
The OA is kind of genius, while simultaneously being incredibly silly. And you know what? I love it! I love its goofy, loopy vibe.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 22, 2019
Ben-Adir is great here, with his seen-it-all shrug and effortless cool, and his presence gives us a viewer surrogate who's just as confused and exasperated by all this pseudoscientific mumbo-jumbo as we are.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 15, 2019
It's compelling -- or at least it is once it gets going -- but it's a very different beast to season one, swapping out ambiguity for hard sci-fi fantasy.
March 21, 2019
There are moments in Part II that are so visually and conceptually bold... There are other moments that skirt so close to the pretentious and ridiculous that they made me think I might actually transform into the eye-roll emoji.
March 22, 2019
The only thing I'm sure of when it comes to The OA is that the process of watching and experiencing an episode is unlike the viewing of any other show on TV and, good or bad, there's value in that.
May 17, 2019
[The OA] manages to be stranger, more puzzling and even more addictively demented than the first season.
Page 2 of 2