The OA: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The OA: Season 1 Reviews

March 29, 2019
I quite like it. The first series was like nothing else.
March 22, 2019
Bonkers with a vengeance, it duly sent many unsuspecting Netflix subscribers pogoing for cover. But those who reconciled themselves to the riptides of wackiness were pleasantly swept off their feet.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 28, 2018
Absorbing, despite its flaws.
August 15, 2017
By juxtaposing Greek thought with a captivity story featuring a pretty blonde woman, The OA achieves a very strange and compelling textural effect.
April 25, 2017
Though it occasionally loses its grip on its lofty material, and skids a little in its narrative chicanes, The OA is quite something to behold: a strange and strangely beautiful thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 3, 2017
The show's melancholy atmosphere and central mystery of near-death experiences is tough to resist in the early going, particularly while TV awaits another slate of offerings.
December 29, 2016
It's often courageous in its demands upon our empathy, and the series always seems like it's just one revelation away from not just coherence but transcendence.
Top Critic
December 29, 2016
The OA's tale is a riveting celestial escape. For viewers too. Never mind that to consume it through Netflix is part of what these children are trying to escape in the first place.
December 22, 2016
It is a swing and a miss on a colossal level, but oh, what a swing.
December 20, 2016
I get the sense that Marling and Batmanglij think their show is way deeper than it actually is, and that's what ultimately damns it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
December 19, 2016
Certainly it's a thing of gargantuan imagination and ambition, both seductive and infuriating. I was sucked in, almost reluctantly.
December 19, 2016
Oh, man. If we take The OA exactly 1000 times less seriously than The OA takes itself, we might have found the best show of 2016.
December 19, 2016
Netflix describes The OA as "a Russian nesting doll of a story." I'd call it a beautifully painted eggshell, and I can't recommend spending the seven-plus hours it takes to crack it and get to the hollow center.
December 19, 2016
What's most striking... is the richness of the story. It weaves in such a variety of textures and styles and allusions that it sometimes feels transparently absurd, but it's hard not to be drawn in given the wealth of different objects on offer.
December 19, 2016
If Stranger Things is an immediately yummy, nostalgia-inducing bowl of Count Chocula then The OA is a meal both fresher and more exotic, while still succeeding as a televisual page-turner.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 19, 2016
After an enticing and somewhat infuriating build-up, The OA becomes something quite ludicrous as it stumbles toward a climax that is, if I'm generous, merely unearned and if I'm not being generous, a series of offensive overreaches.
December 19, 2016
Like a cat trying to play the piano, it might not exactly achieve its goal, but the attempt is still rather endearing and undeniably watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 19, 2016
I haven't seen anything quite like The OA, whose twists were gripping enough to keep me going even in some moments when I'd otherwise have been rolling my eyes.
December 16, 2016
Despite having the best intentions - and technical skill that is at times breathtaking - the story of The OA, the thing it is trying to be about, is little more than pretty much nonsense - self-indulgent, self-serious psychodrama.
December 16, 2016
The show's surprise arrival also mirrors the show's narrative approach, which is dazzling in its insistence on avoiding straight lines and favoring hairpin turns.
December 16, 2016
The OA feels like a singular, focused effort, which gives it an addictive confidence... Such an aggressive reach... eventually leads to the story tripping over itself, but the imagination is to be admired more than the end result derided.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 16, 2016
That's the true allure of weird TV. When it's this good, it takes hold of you and pulls you under. You may not be sure of what you just watched, but it sticks in your head for quite some time.
December 16, 2016
Committing time to such programs requires a leap of faith. The OA mostly justifies that investment, even if the filmmakers couldn't quite stick the landing.
December 16, 2016
In terms of substantive, original drama, it transcends it. Mind you, it is unclassifiable in the context of drama, mystery, science-fiction and fantasy, since it is straddling all sorts of lines and blurring them. It is outright astounding and brilliant.
December 16, 2016
[It's] is one of the most significant shows of the year simply because [the creators] barrel through so many boundaries, stretch their combined imaginations so far and challenge the shopworn precepts of what is supposed to make an acceptable... series.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4