The OA: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The OA: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 24, 2018
Every outlandish thing we see on screen makes it even more difficult to sympathize with Prairie and all the easier to discredit her.
July 10, 2018
Initially very interesting, The OA begins to dilute in its final chapters. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 1, 2017
Long before the mystery begins to take shape, you may find it much easier to undergo deprogramming.
December 22, 2016
It is a swing and a miss on a colossal level, but oh, what a swing.
August 10, 2017
One's first instinct is to ask why The OA saved its best material for the very end. One's second is to realize that this is a plot-driven mystery show on Netflix, so the question answers itself.
December 20, 2016
I get the sense that Marling and Batmanglij think their show is way deeper than it actually is, and that's what ultimately damns it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 19, 2016
Oh, man. If we take The OA exactly 1000 times less seriously than The OA takes itself, we might have found the best show of 2016.
August 28, 2017
Instead of completing its story, the series short-circuits in its last chapter.
December 16, 2016
Despite having the best intentions - and technical skill that is at times breathtaking - the story of The OA, the thing it is trying to be about, is little more than pretty much nonsense - self-indulgent, self-serious psychodrama.
December 19, 2016
What's so frustrating about The OA is how some great parts fail to form a complete whole.
May 16, 2019
It feels like the sort of show that would be a background joke in an episode of BoJack Horseman and/or something Jack Donaghy would pitch on 30 Rock.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 19, 2016
What a shame, that something with such strong, shimmery elements and such a distinctive sensibility should net out, like so many less worthy, less ambitious, less eccentric and less inventive shows, at "in between.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 19, 2016
Netflix describes The OA as "a Russian nesting doll of a story." I'd call it a beautifully painted eggshell, and I can't recommend spending the seven-plus hours it takes to crack it and get to the hollow center.
December 16, 2016
After eight hours of head scratching and hope-watching, I came to realize that by far the most interesting thing about The OA is how Netflix is releasing it. Which is never a good sign for any piece of narrative storytelling.
December 19, 2016
After an enticing and somewhat infuriating build-up, The OA becomes something quite ludicrous as it stumbles toward a climax that is, if I'm generous, merely unearned and if I'm not being generous, a series of offensive overreaches.
August 8, 2019
The OA showcases minority voices that are largely ignored in American media.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 17, 2019
[Brit] Marling and [Zal] Batmanglij have created an intriguing universe, populated with sympathetic and real characters. Ultimately rewarding, The OA makes you feel proud to be TV viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
May 22, 2018
The season takes you through [Prairie's] mysterious past and mystical adventures as she tries to go back and save others who are missing as well.
May 16, 2019
At times it can feel like a term paper written by two honor students trying to cram in all of their esoteric research but the sense of possibility and ambition is infectious.
June 21, 2018
However, if you're able to set aside your inevitable moments of second-hand embarrassment and embrace the insanity of this series, there's a good chance you'll enjoy it. It's a hard ask, but one that can be rewarding.
Page 1 of 4