The OA: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The OA: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 8, 2019
The OA showcases minority voices that are largely ignored in American media.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 17, 2019
Though the show was slow going at first, its interesting narrative and beautiful visual tidbits kept me coming back for more.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 17, 2019
The show seems oblivious to how daft it all looks, perhaps dazzled by its own profundity as it alludes to various half-baked pseudo-philosophical and mystical ideas.
May 17, 2019
[Brit] Marling and [Zal] Batmanglij have created an intriguing universe, populated with sympathetic and real characters. Ultimately rewarding, The OA makes you feel proud to be TV viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
May 16, 2019
There are those things we can't put down or can't not binge through, and there are those things we want to savor for as long as we can. The OA is the latter for me.
May 16, 2019
It feels like the sort of show that would be a background joke in an episode of BoJack Horseman and/or something Jack Donaghy would pitch on 30 Rock.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 16, 2019
Personally, I can't remember the last time that I liked something that I should've hated so much.
May 16, 2019
The OA is an unnervingly realistic yet still fantastical exploration of mortality, of art, of the truth, of of reality, of survival, and most of all, of hope.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.2/10
May 16, 2019
At times it can feel like a term paper written by two honor students trying to cram in all of their esoteric research but the sense of possibility and ambition is infectious.
March 29, 2019
I quite like it. The first series was like nothing else.
March 22, 2019
Bonkers with a vengeance, it duly sent many unsuspecting Netflix subscribers pogoing for cover. But those who reconciled themselves to the riptides of wackiness were pleasantly swept off their feet.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 24, 2018
Every outlandish thing we see on screen makes it even more difficult to sympathize with Prairie and all the easier to discredit her.
July 10, 2018
Initially very interesting, The OA begins to dilute in its final chapters. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 21, 2018
However, if you're able to set aside your inevitable moments of second-hand embarrassment and embrace the insanity of this series, there's a good chance you'll enjoy it. It's a hard ask, but one that can be rewarding.
May 22, 2018
The season takes you through [Prairie's] mysterious past and mystical adventures as she tries to go back and save others who are missing as well.
March 28, 2018
Absorbing, despite its flaws.
November 6, 2017
There's an undeniable confidence to The OA.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 25, 2017
It's a sci-fi infused series that will definitely quench your thirst if you're really missing Stranger Things, there's even a bald girl.
September 12, 2017
While clear answers are not on the menu here, viewers are treated to excellent performances by Marling and a cast of young newcomers, visually astounding scenes of interstellar dimensions and a story that begs for fan theories...
August 28, 2017
Instead of completing its story, the series short-circuits in its last chapter.
Page 1 of 4