The Act: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Act: Season 1 Reviews

July 15, 2019
But what do we really learn about human nature, apart from: some people are weird? I enjoyed it for the performances: ChloŽ Sevigny, as Dee Dee's plain-talking neighbour Mel, and Joey King, who is brilliant as Dee Dee's helium-voiced daughter.
March 27, 2019
Perhaps more than a study of true crime, The Act is a show about the fierce attachment between mothers and daughters, gone horribly wrong.
March 22, 2019
This is body horror by way of Walt Disney, a ghoulish fantasia of princess gowns, stuffed animals, prescription drugs, and physical harm.
March 21, 2019
The character will be remembered as an icon of our era of grift, alongside the antiheroes of Fyre Fraud, The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley, and The Apprentice.
March 21, 2019
The combination of subject and sequencing creates an eerie atmosphere, but pushing a bit further stylistically could have made this a campy treat instead of something caught between sincere storytelling and the bizarre true story.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 20, 2019
The Act remains oddly fascinating, perhaps especially so as the strange, sad relationship between the needy Gypsy and disturbed Nick (Calum Worthy) develops.
March 20, 2019
The scripts by Dean and Antosca and the performances by the two leads do a fine job exploring the murky power dynamic between mother and child... Both actors are terrific, but King is more likely the one people will be talking about after.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 20, 2019
In large part, the success of The Act so far comes down to one person: Joey King.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 19, 2019
I don't know quite how to feel about The Act, about the discomfort of seeing childhood abuse dressed up on screen, even if I know it's not for gawking, even if I recognize the pull the Blanchard story has on me anyway. Perhaps that is the point.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 19, 2019
Even with some lags in pacing, each time I thought the story was running out of juice, it found a different gear and a different genre, all anchored by King and Arquette.
March 19, 2019
A reminder that even when you think you know a great deal about true story, there can be value in retelling it.
March 18, 2019
Patricia Arquette continues her chameleon-like acting renaissance in The Act.
March 15, 2019
The Act is fascinating for a number of reasons, but a chief one is the performances of its two leads, Patricia Arquette and Joey King.
March 6, 2019
Generally, "The Act" nails what it's going for - a grotty, nasty, poisonous fable whose punch comes from the fact that some version of it really happened but that would be compelling regardless.