The Act: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Act: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 15, 2019
But what do we really learn about human nature, apart from: some people are weird? I enjoyed it for the performances: Chloë Sevigny, as Dee Dee's plain-talking neighbour Mel, and Joey King, who is brilliant as Dee Dee's helium-voiced daughter.
March 22, 2019
The story here... just drags on where a quicker pace would clearly be more effective in a journey where the destination is already determined.
March 20, 2019
Watch Mommy Dead and Dearest as well as the various interviews with Gypsy Rose Blanchard instead; they'll be a lot more fascinating to watch than The Act.
March 20, 2019
Watching the series becomes a bit of a slog where you are just waiting for the crime to happen so that the narrative can move forward.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.8/10
March 19, 2019
I don't know quite how to feel about The Act, about the discomfort of seeing childhood abuse dressed up on screen, even if I know it's not for gawking, even if I recognize the pull the Blanchard story has on me anyway. Perhaps that is the point.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 8, 2019
Unsettling take on the fantastic story that ended in tragedy. The Act is a fine piece of true crime that won't be forgotten any time soon. [Full review in Spanish].
March 6, 2019
"The Act" is a compelling narrative to add to a post-#MeToo world. Men abuse power and sexuality of women, and in this case, a woman is abusing her power and sexuality of another woman (specifically her daughter).
March 19, 2019
The show captures the level of fascination that was present in the Buzzfeed article... It serves as a great piece of additional insight into the events that transpired.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2019
The series is so cleverly layered and edited that there are a few moments when one could be tempted to feel sorry for this terrible mother.
May 24, 2019
I have no doubt that when you reach the end of this season, you may not be able to stomach much more, but I hope Hulu keeps the stories coming.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
July 2, 2019
The Act works as an absorbing, well-paced drama.
March 20, 2019
Mental illness and the ways it colors incomprehensible choices rarely has such easy, tidy resolutions. The Act understands this fact at a painful level, and leaves you gasping from the results.
March 27, 2019
Perhaps more than a study of true crime, The Act is a show about the fierce attachment between mothers and daughters, gone horribly wrong.
March 29, 2019
The Act may be too much for some viewers to handle, but it's a masterwork in true crime storytelling and one of the most exciting new additions to Hulu's library.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 18, 2019
The Act never seizes an opportunity to make us understand why Dee Dee manufactured this system of toxic codependency, missing out on an "Aha!" moment that might've made The Act magical. But for plain old Mommy horror fun, The Act does its job nicely.
Full Review | Original Score: 69/100
March 6, 2019
Generally, "The Act" nails what it's going for - a grotty, nasty, poisonous fable whose punch comes from the fact that some version of it really happened but that would be compelling regardless.
June 17, 2019
'The Act' is disturbing, it is hard to see, it is addictive and it is done with a very good hand. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 27, 2019
Dark, toxic mother-daughter tale is based on a true story.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 22, 2019
This is body horror by way of Walt Disney, a ghoulish fantasia of princess gowns, stuffed animals, prescription drugs, and physical harm.
March 20, 2019
In large part, the success of The Act so far comes down to one person: Joey King.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 2