Never Have I Ever: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Never Have I Ever: Season 1 Reviews

May 6, 2020
So many themes hit home in this delightfully warm and funny series, but particularly if your parents are from somewhere else and you grew up here. Never did I ever think I'd see our story on TV.
May 5, 2020
The show is also smartly written, so that the season builds to a climax that is organic and, I found, moving.
May 1, 2020
And an impressive supporting cast adds to the all-ages fun, with Niecy Nash dispensing tough love as Devi's therapist and surprisingly entertaining narration from temperamental kindred spirit Joe McEnroe.
April 28, 2020
Maitreyi Ramakrishnan is a natural...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 28, 2020
Which is evidence that, though not a perfect ride and likely to be overhyped out of starvation mode for any teen comedy resembling the actual diversity, horniness, and profanity of being a teenage girl, Never Have I Ever gets there, eventually.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 27, 2020
Sweet, funny, and occasionally flat-out weird, it's the latest show that brings an independent-film sensibility to the half-hour comedy format.
April 27, 2020
A familiar and yet fresh and much-needed revelation, in that it centers the very people generally sidelined in [romantic comedy] movies.
April 27, 2020
A comedy that's also an incredible exploration of grief.
April 24, 2020
Never Have I Ever has greater emotional depth. Devi ultimately has a lot of trauma to deal with, and the series compassionately guides her to where she needs to be.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 24, 2020
There are so many pleasures in this series, none of which would work if Devi weren't such a delightful protagonist, an ideal mixture of understandably selfish, self-blind, legitimately funny, fundamentally good, and deeply caring.
April 24, 2020
Maitreyi Ramakrishnan, a fresh and inventive newcomer, brings a sly self-awareness to the role as if simultaneously sympathizing with Devi and seeing through her.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 23, 2020
Comedy is never safe; the best comedy is totally unsafe; and Never Have I Ever is the teen-sitcom equivalent of running with scissors, used hypodermic needles and a fully operating chain saw. It may also be the meta high-school series of our time.
April 23, 2020
Even when the show gets a bit predictable, in terms of teen relationships and parental conflicts, it remains so endearing that I couldn't fault it. Plus, it has enough originality and fun little quirks... to keep it feeling fresh.
April 23, 2020
The tension between Devi's desire to assimilate and her mother's more traditionalist leanings underlines everything, and makes the usual tropes about love triangles, wild parties, and painful misunderstandings feel brand new again.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 22, 2020
Ramakrishnan and Lewison share the kind of comedic chemistry that converts readily to romantic sparks.
April 20, 2020
With enough self-awareness and empathetic acting to ground and elevate it, Never Have I Ever makes for a smart, refreshing, and frankly overdue change of pace.
April 20, 2020
When Ramakrishnan is paired with Ramona Young and Lee Rodriguez as besties Eleanor and Fabiola, respectively, the trio have all the crackling spark of a John Hughes movie.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 20, 2020
Much like Hulu's stellar PEN15, Never Have I Ever anchors its hormonal hijinks in authentic, poignant female friendships.
Full Review | Original Score: A-