Never Have I Ever: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Never Have I Ever: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 11, 2020
Ultimately, the failed promise of Never Have I Ever is an example of what can be frustrating about a homogenous landscape where any diverse representation has the unearned good will of being assumed good representation.
April 29, 2020
This isn't destination streaming. It's filler with a hint of spice to it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 30, 2020
Never Have I Ever perplexingly dabbles in casual Islamophobia, ableism, and fatphobia.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 30, 2020
If you can get over the recycled story trope, this show offers depth and complexity that your typical high school rom-com usually doesn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 27, 2020
It's really a bittersweet look at grief, family, culture, and friendship, wrapped in the shiny foil of a teen rom-com.
April 29, 2020
...this show in a sense is a celebration for people of colour by people of colour. By flipping the gaze only somewhat, the fun of watching it as a brown person dissipated quickly. But there's fun to be had nonetheless...
May 7, 2020
[Maitreyi] Ramakrishnan shines as Devi, effortlessly charming and adorable while also being vulnerable and awkward in equal parts.
May 15, 2020
Never Have I Ever is a smart, touching and thoroughly refreshing take on high school teen comedy, complete with a brilliant cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 1, 2020
Mindy Kaling's Never Have I Ever is a strong debut filled with humour, complexity and tons of heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
May 4, 2020
It's not perfect, but neither is it superficial or derivative, and it's arguably [Mindy] Kaling's best work to date.
May 7, 2020
With Never Have I Ever's missteps, there are also wins and fresh takes. It just doesn't have to be so provocative for a teen crowd, even if it is better than Riverdale.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 28, 2020
Which is evidence that, though not a perfect ride and likely to be overhyped out of starvation mode for any teen comedy resembling the actual diversity, horniness, and profanity of being a teenage girl, Never Have I Ever gets there, eventually.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 23, 2020
This series allows these kids and their parents to be complex and imperfect and sometimes dead wrong; which allows us to giggle and grow right along with them.
May 8, 2020
One of the best TV series of the year! Never Have I Ever is hilarious, genuine, relatable and features a stellar performance from newcomer Maitreyi Ramakrishnan.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 30, 2020
Despite the focus on grief, there's so much joy to be found in Never Have I Ever. Never have I ever seen such perfectly imperfect characters as Devi and her friends.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 28, 2020
Never Have I Ever's characters transcend the typical stock types found in teen-geared narratives.
May 8, 2020
Never Have I Ever is the sweet, savvy Indian-American comedy we deserve.
May 30, 2020
It's a funny, laugh-out-loud comedy with a big nod to diversity and cultures in our United States. I love this series and can't wait for Season 2. Maitreyi Ramakrishnan's breakout performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 24, 2020
Kaling and Fisher have created a shockingly intimate first-gen portrait that's as comforting as your mother's chai and as salty as the gossip served with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 28, 2020
Never Have I Ever is just about as perfect of a teen TV comedy as you can get.
Page 1 of 3