Never Have I Ever: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Never Have I Ever: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 7, 2020
It's refreshing to see white actors in the minority, and if I found it a bit too glib for my taste, it might be that it's skewed to a younger populace.
July 10, 2020
A convincing and moving coming of age story that is engaging all the way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 30, 2020
Never Have I Ever perplexingly dabbles in casual Islamophobia, ableism, and fatphobia.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 30, 2020
It's a funny, laugh-out-loud comedy with a big nod to diversity and cultures in our United States. I love this series and can't wait for Season 2. Maitreyi Ramakrishnan's breakout performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 18, 2020
An absolute charmfest, a perfectly balanced cocktail of wry humour, laugh-out-loud moments and emotionally poignant beats.
May 15, 2020
Drinking, language, sex talk in fresh, charming teen series.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 15, 2020
Never Have I Ever is a smart, touching and thoroughly refreshing take on high school teen comedy, complete with a brilliant cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 11, 2020
Ultimately, the failed promise of Never Have I Ever is an example of what can be frustrating about a homogenous landscape where any diverse representation has the unearned good will of being assumed good representation.
May 8, 2020
Never Have I Ever is the sweet, savvy Indian-American comedy we deserve.
May 8, 2020
One of the best TV series of the year! Never Have I Ever is hilarious, genuine, relatable and features a stellar performance from newcomer Maitreyi Ramakrishnan.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 7, 2020
With Never Have I Ever's missteps, there are also wins and fresh takes. It just doesn't have to be so provocative for a teen crowd, even if it is better than Riverdale.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 7, 2020
[Maitreyi] Ramakrishnan shines as Devi, effortlessly charming and adorable while also being vulnerable and awkward in equal parts.
May 6, 2020
So many themes hit home in this delightfully warm and funny series, but particularly if your parents are from somewhere else and you grew up here. Never did I ever think I'd see our story on TV.
May 5, 2020
Never Have I Ever isn't perfect. It still has some weird fat and ableist jokes that feel awkward in a mostly self-aware series, but I think it really has helped to expand the landscape of what South Asian media representation looks like.
May 5, 2020
The show is also smartly written, so that the season builds to a climax that is organic and, I found, moving.
May 4, 2020
A very good comedy that consistently delights.
May 4, 2020
It's not perfect, but neither is it superficial or derivative, and it's arguably [Mindy] Kaling's best work to date.
May 1, 2020
And an impressive supporting cast adds to the all-ages fun, with Niecy Nash dispensing tough love as Devi's therapist and surprisingly entertaining narration from temperamental kindred spirit Joe McEnroe.
May 1, 2020
It's wonderful. It's my favorite season of TV that's premiered on Netflix so far this year.
May 1, 2020
Mindy Kaling's Never Have I Ever is a strong debut filled with humour, complexity and tons of heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Page 1 of 3