Match Game: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Match Game: Season 1 Reviews

May 24, 2019
Improbably, ABC's reboot of the series has done a great job in recreating the loose vibe of the original.
May 24, 2019
[Alec] Baldwin surprised me with how easily he slipped into the host role, not giving any whiff that it was a "step down" for a two-time Emmy-winning actor.
May 24, 2019
I thought [Match Game] was EXTREMELY charming.
May 24, 2019
The producers, and ABC, largely got this right.
July 7, 2016
The vibe is loose and giggly, Baldwin is an apt and quick-witted host, and the celebrity guests are game on this nicely done reboot of the 1960s quiz show that's a lot of fun to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
July 7, 2016
The creators of this revival achieved what long seemed impossible -- a great new Match Game -- by restoring the concept's original simplicity and letting smart players fill in the blanks.
July 7, 2016
Baldwin hosted with debonair aplomb while remaining open to extending the show's racy roots.
July 7, 2016
Looking slim and dapper, Baldwin seemed to be approaching his hosting duties almost as a piece of performance art.
July 7, 2016
Alec Baldwin is the host. Let me repeat that: Alec Baldwin -- Emmy-winning, Oscar-nominated Alec Baldwin -- is the host. How the hell did that happen? I don't know, but man, is he something to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 24, 2019
Alec Baldwin is no Steve Harvey. Unlike Harvey, Baldwin seems diminished on the set of a retro '70s game show dedicated to getting contestants to say gently dirty nonsense.
July 11, 2016
It's just not as good as my beloved '70s version. Nobody sparks the same joy in me as Gene or Richard or Charles or the queen of Match Game, Patti Deutsch.