Lucifer: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lucifer: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 28, 2019
Aside from the story itself, Lucifer's pilot stands out among the 2015-2016 premieres. The music is an absolute perfect fit for the show... The dialogue is snappy and wry, and Tom Ellis is absolutely delicious as Lucifer, Lord of Hell.
February 27, 2019
Featuring the Devil in his most vanilla of forms, horror fans will be left wanting; Lucifer is disappointingly sparse on strong imagery.
February 27, 2019
Tom Ellis brings devilish charm to Neil Gaiman's Lucifer, but the show's cop-drama spin is unappealing.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.9/10
February 27, 2019
I can admit that I wasn't a fan of the show in the beginning. But the Devil has a way of getting under your skin-and I'm definitely looking forward to another season of Lucifer.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 12, 2017
You'd be better served to watch any of the other detective dramas to which I've compared the lifeless "Lucifer." Just heed my warning: Stay away from this mid-season mediocrity fest.
October 24, 2016
Fox's Lucifer proves that despite their ubiquity, comic book adaptations far from a guaranteed success.
October 17, 2016
The show really sings whenever it dives headfirst into the mythology.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 27, 2016
My main hope would be that the show is able to incorporate a bit more of the fantastic into its week-to-week proceedings. For now, though, there's enough to like in Ellis' performance to give the show a few more viewings as it attempts to find itself.
January 26, 2016
Even though the show is a bit predictable, the way it doesn't take itself too seriously mixes well.
January 26, 2016
With Ellis's scenery-chewing as its centrifugal force, Lucifer is a pulp fandango that revels in its inherent silliness and is all the richer for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 26, 2016
DC comic adaptation is dark but has a charming antihero.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 26, 2016
Lucifer has done itself a lot of favors by selecting a strong lead performer, but Ellis can't carry the show all by himself. The show's writing is too tame to fully embrace all the implications of a main character who is literally the Devil.
January 26, 2016
Protests have been heard against turning Lucifer into a good guy, but in fact, he's mainly just a smug jerk with a creepy smile. And as his reluctant sidekick, German is as bland as her counterparts on a lot of better shows.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 26, 2016
For now, I'm intrigued by the potential and I enjoy spending time with Lucifer, but if this turns into CSI: Devil's Nightclub, I'm out.
January 25, 2016
Hopefully the writers will take full advantage of [Tom Ellis'] sex appeal and take the show into racier territory.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 25, 2016
One episode in, Lucifer is uneven but mostly fun.
Top Critic
January 25, 2016
This louche Lucifer is mostly a cop procedural snooze.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 25, 2016
We're left with a show that's as cheesy as it is ridiculously improbable.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 25, 2016
Indeed, the mysteries are almost beside the point; your mileage will vary precisely based on how you like the leads. Take it for a spin.
January 25, 2016
Hellishly bad, is Lucifer.
Page 1 of 3