Killing Eve: Season 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Killing Eve: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 7, 2019
Watching Season 2 is like a second helping of an uncommonly delicious and hard-to-find dessert - not strictly necessary, but the pleasure of gobbling it up negates the minor downsides of excess calories and diminishing returns.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 29, 2019
Killing Eve remains far and away one of the smartest, funniest, British dramas on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 26, 2019
Jodie Comer has perfected the psychopath. She's mesmerising as the ruthless assassin Villanelle in this thriller.
July 18, 2019
The strongest aspect of this second season is its unwillingness to reiterate or re-establish motive, instead twisting and growing to a dizzying finale.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 2, 2019
Killing Eve tramples the tropes and stereotypes of spy stories and femininity with bankable style and flair.
June 28, 2019
Series two is, sadly, not a match for the first. It's not by any stretch bad TV. It's still very entertaining, just not as daring and surprising as the first.
June 28, 2019
A recipe in search of a chef. Everything is more, everything is less.
June 27, 2019
A breathtakingly wonderful excursion into a dizzy world of desire, compulsion, control, lust, and death.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
June 17, 2019
[Jodie] Comer and [Sandra ] Oh remain mesmerising as the killer-for-hire and the reluctant British agent obsessed with catching her.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 17, 2019
I greeted the return of Killing Eve with five stars but now I'm reducing it to three... I have said, previously, that that the writing is so smart that the incoherence of the plot is irrelevant, but now that incoherency is properly getting on my nerves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 11, 2019
Series two may have stylish boots to fill, but where a second run perhaps can't surprise as much, the characters are more intriguing.
June 11, 2019
It still feels so fresh. Comer is as marvellous as ever, particularly when Villanelle is posturing (she acts acting so brilliantly); her petulant charm never fails.
June 10, 2019
It seems as funny, perhaps lighter and wackier with Oh, Comer and Shaw as brilliant as before, and with that same irresistibly subversive female dynamic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 10, 2019
I inhaled the first series and thought I'd inhale the second, but - how can I put this? It's a bit slow. Its self-aware, self-congratulatory tone is grating, and the only thing left is a great soundtrack and Comer in some eye-catching outfits.
June 10, 2019
Whatever: the second series thunders on with brio and all its fizzing synonyms, astonishingly better than before.
June 10, 2019
Yet as the season inevitably outgrows the cat and mouse premise that sustained series one and Eve and Villanelle became more intimately acquainted, a slight flakiness start to intrude.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 10, 2019
If the script is a tiny bit less nuanced and the whole not quite as light on its feet as the first season was, it hardly matters.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 6, 2019
Last series we saw a slightly softer side to Villanelle in her interactions with the young girl she abducted. Here [Jodie] Comer gives us an anti-heroine who's battered, scared, in pain, exhausted and outmanoeuvred. She's excellent.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 29, 2019
Helmed by new showrunner Emerald Fennell, Killing Eve's second season trades in the precise mordant wit of series creator Phoebe Waller-Bridge for something more garish and horrifying.
May 24, 2019
Season two has been ragged, inconsistent and not nearly as much fun as the first. Even Villanelle's increasingly over-the-top murders have become repetitive and seem randomly dropped in to remind us she's a cold-blooded psycho.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 3