Dolly Parton's Heartstrings: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dolly Parton's Heartstrings: Season 1 Reviews

November 22, 2019
The most objectionable thing about Dolly Parton's Heartstrings is its length. There is no good reason why even an excellent show adapted from three-minute-long country songs would need to have 80-minute long episodes.
December 2, 2019
Unfortunately, what ended up happening is that the acting was so stilted and the dialogue so terrible that it reminded me of a really crappy episode of Beyond Belief: Fact or Fiction, or basically any show where a crime is reenacted poorly.
January 12, 2020
Not without moments of charm, each episode makes one wish they had just listened to her greatest hits on Spotify instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 20, 2019
Heartstrings is a great conceit tangled up in a cheap execution. By stretching Parton's songs beyond their breaking point, and stuffing the minutes with tangential fluff, the producers end up softening the impact of her heartbreaking stories.
November 23, 2019
What the scripts lack, the actors try to make up for with wry looks, lip-biting and - if trying to be sexy - constant gentle undulation. But everything is terrible, and not even bad enough to be good.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
December 23, 2019
I couldn't stomach it, though I think in its middle-of-the-road approach to cozy life lessons, the show is doing exactly what it intends to do.
November 22, 2019
"Heartstrings" walks an interesting tightrope in these politically fraught times.
December 5, 2019
It's a bit pat, and it's definitely too long, but Turner is warm and peppery, Goodwin is likable, and by end of it, I admit it -- I was reaching for the tissues.
November 21, 2019
Compelling, dramatic tales bring iconic song lyrics to life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 22, 2019
...immaculate, polished, freshly varnished sets...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 22, 2019
Dolly Parton's Heartstrings won't be the most revolutionary drama anthology you've seen, but it's well-acted and a fine series to warm your heart on a cold winter day.
November 25, 2019
Heartstrings is an acquired taste, it's true. But [Dolly] Parton herself is a universally adored figure that you wish were available to call you sugar and sing you a lullaby as you softly cry yourself to sleep for the 280th time this year.