Doctor Who: Season 12 Episode 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Doctor Who: Season 12 Episode 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
David Hogan
hoganreviews.co.uk
March 8, 2020

Shocking revelations, great villains in The Master and the Cybermen and some nice dialogue to go with it. This two-parter was a triumph.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Kieron Moore
Starburst
January 21, 2020

It's a fun, fast, edge-of-your-seat story, capturing the excitement that Who whipped up under the writing of Russell T Davies and (at his best) Steven Moffat.

Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Chris Bennion
Times (UK)
Top Critic
January 6, 2020

It was a stodgy episode of little importance, with Lenny Henry's baddy signalled as a baddy from the get-go and therefore not very interesting.

Victoria Segal
Times (UK)
Top Critic
January 6, 2020

In a gluttonous attempt to court multiple fandoms, Spyfall was a smart James Bond pastiche.

Alex Moreland
alexmoreland.co.uk
January 3, 2020

An improvement over series 11, yes, but Chris Chibnall's Doctor Who still feels frustratingly anonymous in many ways.

Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Lauren Busser
Tell-Tale TV
January 3, 2020

"Spyfall: Part One," accomplishes its mission as a strong opener and leaves viewers with many burning questions.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Devan Coggan
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
January 3, 2020

The Doctor is obviously shocked, but for the audience, it's not a particularly satisfying discovery... Still, it's fun to watch Dhawan flip the switch from mild-mannered alien enthusiast to preening intergalactic criminal.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Rachel Leishman
The Mary Sue
January 2, 2020

The episode goes from a fun mess of the Doctor's companions trying to be spies into a twisty-turny episode that had us all screaming by the end.

Melanie McFarland
Salon.com
Top Critic
January 2, 2020

It is incredibly fun to watch.

Rob Leane
Den of Geek
January 2, 2020

Chibnall has brought lots of big ideas this year and instilled a confidence in the cast and crew that should make it possible to realize them.

Clint Worthington
The Spool
January 2, 2020

You can feel Chibnall and the rest trying to fix the last season's issues - no returning villains, a lack of serialization - and here's hoping they pull it off.

Courtney Enlow
Syfy Wire
January 2, 2020

She's back, she's Bond, and we are ready for it. Let's get a shift on.

Emily Asher-Perrin
Tor.com
January 2, 2020

2020 can't possibly start out that great.

Lacy Baugher
Culturess
January 2, 2020

I guess I can't say I'm not intrigued to see where this is all going. Thank goodness we've only got to wait four days for Part Two.

Kyle Anderson
Nerdist
January 2, 2020

It was all around a pretty enjoyable episode. But it wasn't until the final moments of the episode that "Spyfall" and Doctor Who kicking things up a notch.

Christopher Stevens
Daily Mail (UK)
January 2, 2020

The Master is back. This series of Doctor Who really is returning to basics. And it works.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Carol Midgley
Times (UK)
Top Critic
January 2, 2020

This was mostly a modern, zeitgeisty, ambitious, pan-global plot, although it was a bit slack in parts.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dan Martin
Guardian
Top Critic
January 2, 2020

I'm not a James Bond fan, I'm a Doctor Who fan and I know I'm not the only person who feels this way. That said, showrunner Chris Chibnall has tremendous crowdpleasing fun here with the genre's tropes.

Robert Lloyd
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic
January 2, 2020

The Doctor is a person who needs people, which is why the show works best as pure swashbuckling adventure, as in most of "Spyfall," or when it revels in the emotional connections between characters.

Caroline Siede
AV Club
Top Critic
January 2, 2020

Coupled with a stranded Doctor and an explosive plane crash, "Spyfall, Part One" delivers a whizzbang final few moments to kick off the New Year and the new season.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 2