Doctor Who: Season 8 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Doctor Who: Season 8 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 8, 2020
Overall, Capaldi's first episode seems flat and uninspired. If he is to be the actor to regenerate a franchise crushed under the weight of its own history, Moffat is going to have to find new places for the TARDIS to go.
August 27, 2014
The excitement was over before Capaldi had the chance to stamp his personality on things.
August 25, 2014
"Deep Breath" was far from the worst episode in recent years, but for its length and the length waited for it to arrive, I found it to be on the disappointing side.
January 31, 2019
It's pretty evident that Moffatt is figuring out where he can take Capaldi's Doctor.
June 8, 2018
It was possibly the strongest, clearest mission statement any Doctor ever got to make upon donning his new togs.
August 27, 2014
I for one am excited at the prospect of figuring out who this new Doctor is over the next few months and learning to love him in his own way, just as I have for all the previous Doctors.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
August 27, 2014
Is it fun? Of course it is. Lots of wild to-ing and fro-ing between Capaldi and Coleman, who have solid chemistry.
August 8, 2014
As a story, 'Deep Breath' starts as an awkwardly paced jumble of scenes and plot points that gradually fall away to leave a tense and exciting climax.
August 25, 2014
Capaldi's incarnation is hilarious from the off and throws some great one-liners courtesy of Steven Moffat.
August 25, 2014
This introduction of a new Doctor is easily one of the very best of the series relaunch and has to be seen as a success on all levels. It's also simply one of the better episodes in recent memory.
August 27, 2014
There are more than enough fun moments to at least keep fans interested enough to tune in to next week's episode with the Daleks. With a new Doctor, we'd say that's a win.
August 25, 2014
Capaldi is brilliant from the start, and quickly eases any apprehension by addressing the nagging questions about his age and Scottish-ness head on, while still leaving some mystery to his regeneration process or personality.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
August 25, 2014
Honestly, Doctor Who Season 8 Episode 1 wasn't a good episode. It was far too long and perhaps a bit lost. It did, however, achieve the most important job of a newly regenerated Doctor by appealing to our emotions and accepting the change with open arms.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 28, 2014
Both the Doctor and Doctor Who needed clarity, and that's what this new incarnation represents. Peter Capaldi's Doctor is the minimalist, back-to-basics take on the character.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 25, 2014
I may not have totally warmed to Capaldi as much as I thought I would, but there's definite room here for his character to develop. I'm just glad to have who back in my life. Allons-y and Geronimo!
Full Review | Original Score: 7.8/10
Top Critic
November 7, 2014
While I love what Capaldi has done with the Doctor, I'm much less thrilled about the stories he's been featured in.
August 21, 2014
Here we go again. The Doctor has regenerated and, in his Twelfth's iteration, he's older, funnier and even more eccentric than before.
August 22, 2014
The Doctor may be different, but he's as entertaining as ever-and fans are going to love him.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 27, 2014
All of the current-era Doctors have done a good job of hinting at the anger and darkness that lurks behind the Doctor's larky facade, but Capaldi brings a welcome element of yearning melancholy to the Twelfth Doctor.
August 22, 2014
Capaldi puts his stamp on the iconic role with bristling, bold conviction.
Page 1 of 2