Dead to Me: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dead to Me: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
December 5, 2019
Informed by Jen and Judy's superficial brand of feminism, the dialogue rings true. Even better is the chemistry between [Linda] Cardellini and [Christina] Applegate, ideal foils who balance keen comic instincts with raw emotion.
December 5, 2019
Funny, bleak, wrapped up in slick visuals and smart performances, 'Dead To Me' is another worthy addition to Netflix's repertoire of female-led comedies.
December 5, 2019
There are several beats to this show where you can see what's coming up, but then there are others that take a complete right angle and head off somewhere new, keeping us on our toes while making us comfortable at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 5, 2019
As the show goes on, the central fun and main performances remain strong, but the story's inherent messiness becomes more profound.
December 5, 2019
Dead to Me tries to be a whole lot of different things at once - but most of them succeed, actually, thanks to the strong work from [Christina] Applegate and [Linda] Cardellini.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
December 5, 2019
Dead to Me is often very, very funny - but it's also rooted in profound emotion that makes everything matter.
December 5, 2019
It's a frustrating experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 5, 2019
While sustaining this sort of story is invariably a juggling act, this has the self-assured feel of a hit-and-run tale that's destined to keep running for at least a while.
December 5, 2019
Dead To Me isn't really sure, from what I've seen, what it's about or even what kind of show it wants to be.
December 5, 2019
Dead to Me deals with some serious issues but its twisty plot, comedic elements and the great performances at its center gives the show an undeniable energy and spirit.
September 5, 2019
Applegate, moving with ease from comic sourness to genuine dramatic ballast, is the show's revelation. She rightly earned the show's one Emmy nomination, as lead actress in a comedy series.
May 24, 2019
Dead To Me really nails its depiction of female friendship.
May 21, 2019
As simple as it sounds, "Dead to Me" knows exactly what it is and exactly who its characters aren't.
May 17, 2019
For all the elaborate sets and dramatic motifs, it's Dead to Me's two lead actresses that make the story come to life.
May 17, 2019
Its mystery could have been a little sharper and its story-line a little more taut, but thanks to the shining talent of its leading ladies, Dead to Me works quite well and is an entertaining new addition to its sub-genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 14, 2019
Quirky dark comedy about death grabs hold and won't let go.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 14, 2019
Dead to Me is both meditative and dramatically absorbing.
May 11, 2019
Is Dead to Me the perfect crime drama? No. But is it really entertaining and the perfect binge show? YES!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 10, 2019
Filled with "Hey, girl!" moments used to add a bit of lighter humor and break up the nail-biting suspense, Dead to Me is paced just slowly enough for you to become invested in the wrong characters and then root for their demise.
May 7, 2019
At the heart of the story, things don't really add up or carry the emotional weight they should, because Judy and Jen are ideas more than characters - avatars of anger, grief and guilt.
Page 1 of 3