Dare Me: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dare Me: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 24, 2019
All of the hints and insinuations add up to a repetitive, insular drama rather than a fully realized thriller.
December 30, 2019
Dare Me is long on atmosphere, short on plot, and distressingly overburdened with anachronistic dialogue.
December 27, 2019
Just in case the lame plot twists weren't enough for you, the show adds in treating eating disorders with a distressing casualness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/10
January 13, 2020
The show's first two episodes try to stoke a small-town Friday Night Lights feel... that never quite takes.
March 11, 2020
Dare Me is the sort of teen drama that runs with that insanity and goes home with the gold because of it. Just as the cheerleaders on the series can become addicted to making it as a "top girl," you'll get addicted to this brief, deranged binge.
March 23, 2020
A dark, twisted, addictive teen drama to become a solid obsession. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 30, 2019
Come for the mean girl inter-squad drama, stay for the psychological mind games and the constant threat of violence. Every detail, every look, camera angle, and turn of the head feels perfectly calibrated.
December 30, 2019
A show that's dark and mysterious and never afraid to have a little fun - and of course one that's awfully easy to become addicted to.
January 14, 2020
Such plotting -- of teenage girls being pitted against each other and drifting apart -- could come off cliche, but Dare Me does more than incorporate the trope. It examines the way conflict warps the girls' perception of each other, giving it more nuance.
January 2, 2020
When that disorienting, who-to-believe framework gets reflected from multiple angles, "Dare Me" truly delivers.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 30, 2019
The jury is out on whether or not this turns into a mystery we care about, but the pilot makes a strong case to at least stay tuned in.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 26, 2019
Love is a kind of killing, Addy repeats in one chapter, haunting words that get at the core of the series, which mixes desire, hunger, control, and betrayal into an intoxicating poison.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 19, 2019
Dare Me has a lot to appreciate once one gets past its debut episode that should really have had ten minutes shaved out of it.
December 31, 2019
What was at first a seemingly relaxed teen drama soon proves itself to be a skillfully told thriller with a penchant for surprises and twists that don't undercut the power of the narrative.
March 20, 2020
hese are a bunch of mean Mean Girls, with Marlo Kelly (pictured) outstanding as brittle baddie Beth, victim of a deeply dysfunctional family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 26, 2019
Dare Me takes things to some very dark places indeed. Enjoy being there for as long as you can stand it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 2, 2020
It's so smart about the characterization of its leads, and its central three actors are so specific in their deft performances, that it pays off.
January 6, 2020
Sometimes the efforts to create suspense are drawn out too long, making it frustrating to watch at times. But Dare Me offers enough guilty pleasure to make it entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 27, 2019
The show generally succeeds, though, in approximating the dreamlike quality of the book, through inky nighttime visuals and elegantly slowed-down scenes of hallway swagger and brutally powerful acrobatics.
January 2, 2020
Dare Me feels like one of those shows that you're either going to buy into from the start or just shrug and abandon because the story isn't moving along fast enough.
Page 1 of 2