Dare Me: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dare Me: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 23, 2020
A dark, twisted, addictive teen drama to become a solid obsession. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 20, 2020
hese are a bunch of mean Mean Girls, with Marlo Kelly (pictured) outstanding as brittle baddie Beth, victim of a deeply dysfunctional family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 11, 2020
Dare Me is the sort of teen drama that runs with that insanity and goes home with the gold because of it. Just as the cheerleaders on the series can become addicted to making it as a "top girl," you'll get addicted to this brief, deranged binge.
January 14, 2020
Such plotting -- of teenage girls being pitted against each other and drifting apart -- could come off cliche, but Dare Me does more than incorporate the trope. It examines the way conflict warps the girls' perception of each other, giving it more nuance.
January 13, 2020
The show's first two episodes try to stoke a small-town Friday Night Lights feel... that never quite takes.
January 6, 2020
Sometimes the efforts to create suspense are drawn out too long, making it frustrating to watch at times. But Dare Me offers enough guilty pleasure to make it entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 3, 2020
Rather than being frustrating, that sense of mystery acts like a magnet that keeps pulling the viewer back into Dare Me's orbit.
January 2, 2020
When that disorienting, who-to-believe framework gets reflected from multiple angles, "Dare Me" truly delivers.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 2, 2020
It's so smart about the characterization of its leads, and its central three actors are so specific in their deft performances, that it pays off.
January 2, 2020
Dare Me feels like one of those shows that you're either going to buy into from the start or just shrug and abandon because the story isn't moving along fast enough.
December 31, 2019
What was at first a seemingly relaxed teen drama soon proves itself to be a skillfully told thriller with a penchant for surprises and twists that don't undercut the power of the narrative.
December 30, 2019
The jury is out on whether or not this turns into a mystery we care about, but the pilot makes a strong case to at least stay tuned in.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 30, 2019
Dare Me is long on atmosphere, short on plot, and distressingly overburdened with anachronistic dialogue.
December 30, 2019
Come for the mean girl inter-squad drama, stay for the psychological mind games and the constant threat of violence. Every detail, every look, camera angle, and turn of the head feels perfectly calibrated.
December 30, 2019
A worthwhile time investment for midseason, offering something more venturesome than your standard good time with bad people.
December 30, 2019
A show that's dark and mysterious and never afraid to have a little fun - and of course one that's awfully easy to become addicted to.
December 30, 2019
I will, in general, be curious whom USA can get to watch this show, because even with its flaws and padding and occasional unevenness, it's a show with some real storytelling savvy and a clever approach to material that could be trashy in different hands
December 27, 2019
Just in case the lame plot twists weren't enough for you, the show adds in treating eating disorders with a distressing casualness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/10
December 27, 2019
The show generally succeeds, though, in approximating the dreamlike quality of the book, through inky nighttime visuals and elegantly slowed-down scenes of hallway swagger and brutally powerful acrobatics.
December 26, 2019
Love is a kind of killing, Addy repeats in one chapter, haunting words that get at the core of the series, which mixes desire, hunger, control, and betrayal into an intoxicating poison.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 2