The X-Files: I Want to Believe (The X Files 2) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The X-Files: I Want to Believe (The X Files 2) Reviews

Page 1 of 9
July 31, 2008
You'd have to a true X-Phile to find much of merit in this dull footnote to a small-screen landmark.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 6, 2019
As I watched, I found myself less engrossed in the various onscreen goings-on than I was in what was going through the actors' heads as they gamely went through their paces.
Full Review | Original Score: D
August 23, 2018
The film's ambition may well be to "stand alone" but, alas, it doesn't even stand up.
August 17, 2017
I Want to Believe will be tossed on the heap with the rest of the unnecessary remakes, adaptations and sequels.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 26, 2008
As bad as the final season of the show.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 24, 2008
A movie that benefits from -- but doesn't make very good use of -- the history and the chemistry between its stars, David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 24, 2008
The greatest X-File of all may be solving what paranormal phenomenon convinced Fox to greenlight this piece of crap.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
October 14, 2012
Even the apologists will have to admit that this is not the X-Files movie they'd hoped for.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 25, 2008
Rather than providing a springboard to a movie franchise, this film puts the final nail in The X-Files' coffin. Mulder and Scully can now fade into pop culture history.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 24, 2008
[The big plot twist is] so tawdry and ludicrous that, were the film's tone anything but Carter's usual dark and downbeat style, this movie would be the new I Know Who Killed Me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 24, 2008
The story is both a muddle and a drag, having to do with stem cell research and regeneration and missing limbs and a fraught psychic, and that's enough detail for the purposes of this review.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 30, 2009
A sloppy, second-rate entry in the catalog of standalone X-Files adventures.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 24, 2008
There are questions about faith and ethics and redemption in The X-Files: I Want to Believe ... Carter and his team want to give us reasons to believe; I just don't think they gave us any reason to care.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 25, 2008
There's a terrible crime going on against Mulder/Scully. They're being forced to talk to death, beaten about the bush, blued in the face. Crimes like this can break your heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
July 25, 2008
The truth is, they're boring now.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 8, 2008
Carter has with The X-Files: I Want to Believe created a mediocre mystery that relies too frequently on coincidence and screenwriting convenience to elicit genuine interest, much less "belief" in its twists and turns.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 24, 2008
The only mystery worth answering here is: Why did they bother?
| Original Score: 1.5/5
July 24, 2008
This latest, and presumably last, X-Files installment is not an unpleasant way to pass a couple of hours, provided you, too, want to believe. But you have to want it pretty badly.
July 24, 2008
[Carter's] reasonably firm grasp of thriller mechanics can't enliven a tale that amounts to simply a mundane, overlong one of the show's stand-alone, mythology-free episodes.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 24, 2008
Cheaply shot, discernibly under-written, decently acted, unimaginatively directed, and ultimately pointless.
Page 1 of 9