Wounds - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Wounds Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 24, 2020
Wounds is a film that seems simple up top and gets more and more upsetting as it unspools. With a stellar cast and a story that gets under your skin, Wounds is a dizzying and disorienting spin into paranoid horror.
November 21, 2019
It all leads to one of the most disturbing, icky final sequences of the year, a tour de force of entomological terror that leaves enough unsaid to later linger in the subconscious.
November 7, 2019
It's a work of sticky, unyielding dread - one of those misunderstood gems that comes along every so often, catching you off-guard with its skin-crawling concept and arcane atmosphere.
October 31, 2019
Within confines of its gimmicky setup, Anvari delivers an intimate, multi-layered story about an unmoored soul who first recoils from and is then devoured by an ineffable evil.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 31, 2019
It is, perhaps, too easy to say that 'Wounds' intentionally leaves itself open to interpretation. Instead, it raises thoughtful questions that are not easily answered.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 28, 2019
Overall, Wounds is a gruesome, feverish, cockroach-infested, alcoholic nightmare...but low-key in an enjoyable way. Call me crazy.
October 21, 2019
Wounds holds interest by creating a truly oppressive experience. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 18, 2019
The thing ... Anvari does best is give the movie an incredibly filthy look. It's about decay, but the decay you can't see ... [that's] just behind the veneer of a wall. Or a person
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 18, 2019
If a disturbing and skin-crawling horror is what you're looking for, there's plenty to admire - or be repulsed by - in Wounds.
October 18, 2019
The movie more than fulfills its promise to unsettle and to incite shivers - and it doesn't quit.
October 16, 2019
Following on from his inventive Iranian horror Under the Shadow, filmmaker Babak Anvari breathes fresh life into an American-set scary movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 16, 2019
It's hard to call it a good movie-the story really doesn't go anywhere-but I enjoyed it immensely nonetheless.
October 15, 2019
When Wounds ended, I wasn't sure what I had just watched.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 10, 2019
all this serves to expose as much as conceal the real Will - underachieving dropout, disaffected womaniser, dipsomaniac in denial - as he is brought into painful confrontation with his own inner emptiness, parasitism and rot.
May 22, 2019
A midnight movie through and through...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 21, 2019
Wounds seriously left me with a huge case of the heebie-jeebies, and there's no doubt that those little buggers are going to stick with me for a very long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 11, 2019
It has some entertaining moments thanks to a zany Hammer performance.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 5, 2019
Anvari's film is an exciting answer to jump scare supernatural teen movies, toying with filmmaking and narrative expectations while offering a whole lot of nasty, midnight-ready fun in the process.
February 4, 2019
Anvari plays to Hammer's strengths as a man who looks like he has it all until he opens his mouth
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 4, 2019
Wounds is interested in exploring our dark sides, tapping into that uneasy feeling that takes hold when we're alone at night, and creeping us out with an abundance of cockroaches.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Page 1 of 3