Wonder Park - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Wonder Park Reviews

Page 1 of 8
October 27, 2019
schools net my Polk @2
May 12, 2019
I enjoyed this movie much more than I originally thought. While I did have low expectations for this movie, I also had no idea what it was really about. It shadows mental illnesses in certain characters, and even in the protagonist herself, but rarely touches into it. It is not as straightforward as I would have liked, with only calling things, "a sickness" and not fully explaining the severity of the illness. But, it does leave a lot for the viewer to interpret, such as the antagonist, which is not a person. Or is it? I would say they didn't meet their target audience (4-7) since it is more for the 8+ range. A decent movie at the most.
May 12, 2019
Due to the nature of the material, this movie shouldn't be targeted for the younger kids. ~Wonder Park' brings light to what the darkness can do to an individual and what the effects are on those closest to them. For what it's worth, there is a solid message portrayed with a bit of fun to go along.
May 4, 2019
uninspired. animation deserves better
½ May 4, 2019
Enjoyable no brainer if you choose to go along for the ride! -- Seen at the Los Angeles premiere.
½ May 3, 2019
Although the movie was a somewhat lacking in its plot and well-made characters at least it did well in handling its main heroine.

The movie reminded a lot of Inside Out, but if decided to handle things in a different way. The park in a way was a mirror of the mind of June, the protagonist. Here June doesn't struggle with the hardship of growing up, but actually uses growing up as a defense mechanism against her emotional hardships which force her to lose her motivation and childhood imagination. In this movie instead of having things fixed by some colorful little characters, here the heroine finds herself in a world where she takes matters in her own hands without realizing it at first.

Some kind of Big Bad has spread over the Park, hope seems to fade away, until June picks herself up and learns how the spark of her imagination is strong inside her no matter how lonely and helpless she feels not only in that particular moment but as whole when she was outside the park. Fighting against the Big Bad in the Park she also stands up against the trauma inside of her and this way the Park turns into an absolute metaphor of her feelings.

I like how in the end the Big Bad is not entirely gone from the Park but it symbolizes a hardship that she will never be able to forgot, but it will remind her why it's good to never let the bad things go rampant inside of us.
May 2, 2019
Wonder Park is amazing, its full of wacky jokes and magic, i loved every second of it
April 30, 2019
This movie's not that fun and a lot of the jokes fall flat.
April 28, 2019
Excellent imagination
½ April 26, 2019
My child cried and so did I. Bad, very bad.
½ April 21, 2019
The trailers were very deceiving, and I probably did not do my homework as a mom. I took my 4-year-old, and left the theater halfway through the movie. The movie was dark and depressing, and the chimpanzombies were very scary for her. I, as an adult, did not find the movie entertaining at all.
½ April 20, 2019
I slept till fnished, sorry wonder park, and guys don't waste your money ,not worth it.
April 19, 2019
Visually Wonderful A story full of action, adventures and emotions that will make big and small connect with the characters.100% recommend
½ April 18, 2019
A really cute movie. The story was good. Family enjoyed this movie!
April 15, 2019
Really good movie. My 4 year old daughter loved it. I'd seen the reviews before I went so I'd expected it to be bad. Kept waiting for it to be bad. And then it ended. Lovely movie, and as a grown up who was unfortunate enough to lose his mother at a young age, it was a lovely movie to watch and created lots of good conversations with my daughter afterwards. Really not as sad as people make out. Definitely less depressing than most Disney movie settings are, albeit you actually feel the impact of parent illness and/ or loss (not trying to give away the ending :-)) in this movie...not just a random empty Disney glimmer of sadness that is only a song away from barely being even noticed. The movie carried a weight to it, but one that was delivered in a very caring package, so kids have fun but might learn a coping mechanism or two (or at least open the door to parents if they want to go there).
April 13, 2019
This movie has so many amazing messages! Life sometimes brings us struggles and problems and we cant rely on super heroes to save us. We need to keep our hope alive, believe in ourselves and utilize our creativity/problem solving skills to find ways to solve life's challenges. This movie is an emotional roller coaster, heart warming and-stresses the importanxe of friendship, love and family!
April 13, 2019
My 4 year old loved it. That's all that should matter when reviewing a kids movie.
April 13, 2019
Teen angst movie. Depression seems to be the motif for modern animation for kids. What happened to fun movies and humor. I guess depression sells.
April 13, 2019
My kids really liked the movie and so did other people we went with. The critics and other reviewers were too critical this time
½ April 12, 2019
We enjoyed this movie.
Page 1 of 8