Women Without Men (Zanan-e bedun-e mardan) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Women Without Men (Zanan-e bedun-e mardan) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ August 14, 2017
Grim statement on women's lives in Iran.
February 23, 2015
Sometimes it was just too slow, and definitely too hard on its women.
½ February 6, 2014
Not the best structured movie I've ever seen... Felt like it was trying to make too many points at the same time. But it was still quite interesting.
½ May 5, 2013
Too bastract and therefore hard to grasp. But beautifully shot; feels like a poem.
Super Reviewer
March 4, 2013
Magic realism works surprisingly well alongside "everyday life" in this drama which focuses on the interweaving of four Iranian women in 1953 - the year of the US/British coup d'etat. Complex but approachable, the film deftly tackles feminist, religious and political themes in an assured evocation of period. Excellent performances from the four lead actors.
½ November 7, 2012
Well, the imagery was pretty and I am always interested in Middle Eastern culture/history, but, boy oh boy, was I confused...
October 16, 2012
Incredible moving film that I saw a few years back at Sundance. The director brought a unique aesthetic to the film that was risky but ultimately very effective.
March 11, 2012
Some nice visuals but it lacks the novel's exquisite poetic imagery. Overall it was rather lifeless.
½ February 14, 2012
Women without Men is Beautifully atmospheric, but not as poetic as Parsipur's prose.
November 9, 2011
Un film Iranien qui dĂ (C)crit si bien la condition de la femme ! De circonstance !!
September 17, 2011
What's interesting about "Women Without Men" is that it interwove politics and female issue beautifully with a poetic vision.
June 22, 2011
Something of a disappointment, especially because I am sympathetic to the film's attentiveness to the oppression of women. The film's metaphorical paradise, where women are given a brief respite from their suffering, is beautifully shot, with mystery and a keen sense of isolation. However, much of the film has a kind of been there, done that feeling, which undercuts what could have been a much more effective social critique.
June 6, 2011
I didn't dat much like dis highly symbolical, overcontrolled melodrama. but it has a wonderful well composed visual pattern
May 8, 2011
visually magnificent . . . virtually mediocre in almost any other aspect. suffocating from stereotypical symbolism and suffering from the ages old " trying - too - hard - to - make - an - artsy - fartsy - statement " syndrome.

this will probably look like an amazing piece of art for anyone with a sweet spot for feminism and lack of first hand knowledge of the intricacies of early 20's century Iranian socio-cultural and historical realities.

and before putting me up for intellectual inquisition; I'm NOT against feminism . . . but I'm damn sure against bad dialog writing and sloppy sentimentalism.
½ May 7, 2011
PelĂ­cula bastante difĂ­cil de entender, creo que habrĂ­a que ser de IrĂĄn para saber como piensan ellos, lo Ășnico que pude determinar es que en su cultura una mujer que no tenga hombre solo tiene 4 destinos: ser la "querida" ilegal de alguien famoso, ser prostituta, ser fugitiva de su familia o suicidarse, soy feliz de nacer en AmĂ (C)rica sinceramente
½ April 9, 2011
I had no idea what happened in this movie. The plot is pretty impossible to follow. The movie does have a great visual style and the photography is amazing. However, many shots and visual effects in the movie were deliberately stolen from American films (Spike Lee's floating effect, American Beauty's opening and ending, Coen brother imagery, etc). This movie will keep you in your seat if only for its stylistic feel.
½ April 9, 2011
I had no idea what happened in this movie. The plot is pretty impossible to follow. The movie does have a great visual style and the photography is amazing. However, many shots and visual effects in the movie were deliberately stolen from American films (Spike Lee's floating effect, American Beauty's opening and ending, Coen brother imagery, etc). This movie will keep you in your seat if only for its stylistic feel.
April 5, 2011
Really impressive work!!! Well done Shirin Neshat and Sho ja.
I have watched this movie for two time.I do appreciate for this great job.
½ February 12, 2011
I thought it is documentary but it is not!
December 28, 2010
Very well done movie. Still some Persian symbolism but not an overdose. Good lesson of being a woman in a Muslim society. There was some inconsistencies in the story I don't like though. I will watch it again to see if I can piece it together.
Page 1 of 3