Woman Walks Ahead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Woman Walks Ahead Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 9, 2019
My wife and I loved this movie! Some of the critics gave the movie a red tomato, and we agree with them. The cinematography is beautiful, the acting is very good; the script, story, everything is very well done. The movie is based on a true story, and though the movie is a romanticized version of history, this is not a documentary, but an artistic film that accurately portrays the feelings and emotions of the times, the Native Americans, and one woman who, in real life, served as an advocate for Native rights. The movie is not fast-passed, with no car chases or anything like that, but very beautiful and emotional to watch. Highly recommended.
February 2, 2019
Brilliantly Directed and Acted: I rarely write reviews, however this film has touched me so deeply that I cannot stay silent. I found this by accident on Amazon Prime. It grabbed my attention for two reasons: I am an admirer of Jessica Chastain's work, and I love history, especially the Old West.

From the moment the film opened I was captivated. The theme music written by George Fenton is hauntingly beautiful and fits the film perfectly. I was hooked instantly as the first scenes unfolded. Jessica Chastain delivers a flawless performance and never puts a foot down wrong through each of her scenes.

The first scene with Michael Greyeyes who plays Sitting Bill, made me chuckle at his wit and depth of character. I had never seen Michael in anything before, and I was immediately blown away by his masterful performance of this multi-dimensional character. He plays Sitting Bull in a charismatic, soulful and intelligent manner. Sitting Bull is deeply respected by the other Elders, and most deservedly so. Michael's scenes are no less than riveting. And while his first scene made me laugh, his last made me bawl my eyes out. I'll leave it at that with no spoilers.

This film is as timeless and as relevant today as ever. Susanna White's masterful direction creates a sense of unity with the landscape and characters as you find yourself completely immersed in their lives and story -- an important story that should not be forgotten.

While I understand there are some historical inaccuracies, this is also not a documentary. It is a wonderfully written script that tells the story of a strong-willed woman and a powerful and admired Chief who come together in unlikely circumstances and learn to respect and love each other.

This is an award worthy film that should have done far better in the box office than it did and received much more recognition.
January 1, 2019
Great historical movie that keeps you interested.
November 11, 2018
What's wrong with people. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and Jessica Chastain and Michael Greyeyes did justice to their roles. A good updated version of what might have happened.
October 6, 2018
Excellent performances.
September 30, 2018
Loved it and was inspired to go back and read sitting bulls bio
September 24, 2018
OverAll...Very well done: Acting, Script, excellent cinematography.
--will watch again.
September 20, 2018
interesting enough to keep ones interest for most of the average western.
½ September 16, 2018
BEAUTIFUL cinematography and professional casting elevate this above "B" status.
Even so, this one might play better at home than in the theater.
½ September 9, 2018
the only thing i'd change is the soundtrack
August 29, 2018
Jessica Chastain and Michael Greyeyes bring smarts and chemistry to this worthy Western.
August 20, 2018
A lovely film, with amazing actors and an interesting plot. For some reason the plot felt a bit underdeveloped and left more to be desired.
August 7, 2018
Great movie! Great acting/actors! Story about Sitting Bull
July 18, 2018
LOved it. a beautiful performance. Michael Greyeyes magnificent presence on screen and Jessica chastain beauty . two true artist paired together. the cinematography is spectacular. poetry!
July 18, 2018
This movie was so touching and heartfelt
True to the hart of the telling of Sitting Bull
Mr.Greyeyes gives his best performance yet,
With hart and emotional love to Sitting Bulls presents.
Will make you sit on the edge of your seat.
Bone chilling perfection. Beautiful movie ??????????
July 17, 2018
This Was An Amazing Movie, Very Touching & Beautiful ! The Cast Was Perfect, Michael Greyeyes & Jessica Chastain Were Perfect !
July 2, 2018
I'm really saddened by these utterly dull and mean reviews for this movie. Especially calling it "listless"...does every movie about Native Americans have to contain blood, strong violence, rape, vulgarism...? No, it doesn't. This movie contains the injustice of the US towards Native Americans in a subtle, poetic way with a mind-blowing cinematography which, certainly, makes the movie look like a painting from the Romantic era.

So many negative reviews which completely ignore the importance of the Native American characters, their impact on the story, the emotional bond between the leads, the representation of the diverse personalities of Native Americans, as being humorous, kind, well-read, talented..., which is normally narrowed down in movies to only show the Natives as people of few words and nature enthusiasts.

Well done, Susanna White!
June 25, 2018
For the human race to progress; a must see.
Thank you Annapurna!!
June 8, 2018
how to watch the full movie
Page 1 of 2