Winchester - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Winchester Reviews

Page 1 of 19
½ June 8, 2019
A Bit Like A Time-Life / Hallmark Channel Re-Telling, Rather Than What Counts As 'Modern Horror' These Days. There Was Too Many Elements Of A Lazy Level Of Story Telling, Jump-Cut Scares & The Blasting Of The Speakers Loudly. The Story Is A-Kin To A UK-European Detective Story, Which Plods Along With Little To No Red-Herring & Has The Protagonist Appear Late In The Film, Get Easily Disposed Of & End Things Shortly Afterwards. This Part Having No Relation To The Over-Arching 'True Story' Part, Other Than It Being A Fictional Ghost At That Particular Infamous Location.
May 14, 2019
This movie is a joke and a bad one at that.
½ May 13, 2019
Actually alright, the house is really cool and I think the acting isn't the worst. Something about it though just didn't make it good.
April 27, 2019
I don't know why this movie has such a low rating, I thought it was really good. it's not very scary but has a great story and plot line.
April 21, 2019
2/5 Stars
Winchester is a film based on the real life Winchester Mystery House in San Jose, CA. The mansion's construction began in 1884 and continued until 1922 when Mrs. Sarah Winchester passed away. As the widow to William Winchester, the owner of Winchester Repeating Arms Company, Mrs. Winchester inherited majority shares of the company and believed that all the deaths by Winchester rifles were haunting her. She moved West to San Jose and began construction on the mansion to appease the spirits and confuse them to her whereabouts in the mansion. The film has the lore to make a frightening film, but in the end relies mostly on jump scares to try and scare the audience. Helen Mirren does her best portraying Mrs. Winchester, however, some of the cheesy dialogue just can't be overcome no matter how great an actress she is. Jason Clarke does a good job playing Dr. Eric Price, a psychologist sent in to evaluate Sarah in order to determine if she is fit of mind and body to continue running the company. Aside from establishing who these characters are, the movie fails to give them a true purpose or story arc. It's not until about late in the movie where we, as an audience, get to find out what the end-game of the film is and ultimately what the main character's purpose is. That should have been established early on to avoid a film that mostly lacks a sense of direction despite a solid start.
April 15, 2019
This is mostly a generic horror film but it does use its subject matter of the haunted widow of a gun maker to make some interesting points about gun violence, guilt, and corporations. Those are some strange bedfellows for this type of film but that's why I liked it. It's also based on a house in San Jose California that's a tourist attraction I once visited.
½ April 14, 2019
What starts off as an intriguing premise quickly derails into a generic ghost story that, although nice to like at, shoots itself in the foot in all other respects.
April 9, 2019
boring. it's a less interesting episode of Supernatural. Bad CGI and all.
½ April 1, 2019
Meh.
Red Rose was much better. If you really want to see an excellent scary movie, watch the original black and white movie of Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House--The Haunting starring Julie Harris, Claire Bloom an Russ Tamblyn. Even Hellen Mirren isn't good in this flick!
March 20, 2019
It's watchable I guess. Not scary at all and a crappy story line. The costumes and sets were about the only interesting thing. Good to see Bruce Spence back on the screen (even if he did have a bad American accent). If you have the DVD, check out the 'making of' in the special features. I found this far more interesting than the movie.
March 18, 2019
Winchester is more of a drama but if you like this style of movie see it for yourself.
March 18, 2019
I almost bought this movie and I am sure glad I didn't. Showtime's offer was just fine. There may have been a few scares here and there, but no solid story. It kept falling apart more and more as time went on. This movie taught me nothing except to make wiser purchases.
March 17, 2019
A descent movie, not too good , nor that bad either compared to some of other highly rated movies.
March 13, 2019
So cheesy! It was like watching a paint by numbers horror movie, i couldn't take it seriously. It would have better if they had picked a better villain, having it be a young civil war soldier was just laughable and his motives ridiculous.
½ March 2, 2019
Winchester is one of the most haunted houses in the world. Its real story is intriguing and disturbing. So, this movie had a lot of stuff to put up on the screen, but instead of that Michael Spierig and Peter Spierig preferred to use lots of cheap jumpscares and a bad characterization of ghosts to try to scary the spectator, forgetting the story that can be resumed to ghosts trying to scare people.
½ March 1, 2019
I found itva pretty good ride with solid performances and a well built storyline
February 24, 2019
Though many people may not enjoy Winchester, it is able to offer some small jump scares.
½ February 9, 2019
For a horror it offers a few jilting scenes. I am a lover of realistic horror however I find this film to be a tad far fetched. I was excited to see Helen mirren performing in a horror film although was left a little disappointed with her overall. Ultimately I found this film to be a tad on the shit side.
½ January 28, 2019
So dull, boring, and uninteresting. You will not care for any of the characters motivations. It is so bad, that is hard to understand how they dragger pool Helen Mirren into this.
Page 1 of 19