Winchester - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Winchester Reviews

Page 2 of 19
½ January 25, 2019
Winchester is one of the most haunted houses in the world. Its real story is intriguing and disturbing. So, this movie had a lot of stuff to put up on the screen, but instead of that Michael Spierig and Peter Spierig preferred to use lots of cheap jumpscares and a bad characterization of ghosts to try to scary the spectator, forgetting the story that can be resumed to ghosts trying to scare people.
January 21, 2019
Loved this movie. Kept me guessing till the end and the performance by Helen Mirren & Jason Clarke were fantastic.
January 2, 2019
A great historical setting, good actors and wasted potential.
½ December 28, 2018
LOL yea.. this is just weird
Super Reviewer
½ December 28, 2018
This is a by the numbers horror film that poorly attempts to use the Winchester house for its central storyline. The biggest error the filmmakers adopt is such a cliche storyline. The filmmakers attempted to resurrect Jigsaw with mixed results, but this film never overcomes the concept section of the story. Jason Clarke is a talented actor and MIrren should have known better than to star in this film. The actors come out of this unscathed, but the damage the filmmakers shows on the audience score. Disappointing horror film that can't overcome a lacklustre script. 25/12/2018.
½ December 10, 2018
Not as bad as critics say, although, there is a lot that could be improved with this movie. You need to move past the fact that it is almost entirely fictional. Also, it is not scary AT ALL! Winchester has good actors, a descent script and alright cinematography. Not great - But OK.
½ December 5, 2018
OK, I get the snarky undertone, but why protract the plot for so long ? It really didn't know its arse from its elbow. A real hodgepodge of a movie.
½ December 4, 2018
Boring movie basically just a movie to help promote tourist to the mansion. I thought maybe it would have a sixth sense kinda ending, but it seems like the way it ended was so if they want they can make a sequel.
November 28, 2018
A horror movie that heavily rely upon jumpscares hardly makes its way into the pantheon of horror flicks, and this one, despite the presence of Helen Mirren, does not make difference.
November 18, 2018
It's one of those movies that is supposed to be scary but it's not. Some of the scenes were quite funny and it didn't go for very long. I could watch it again.
November 6, 2018
I‚(TM)ve been interested in the story of the Winchester Mystery House for some time, and was excited to finally see a movie about it‚"especially one that stars Helen Mirren‚"but this is a dull and cliched horror film. It relies too heavily on jump scares and focuses too much on Jason Clarke‚(TM)s character. There‚(TM)s no mystery about why Winchester didn‚(TM)t fare better at the box office.
November 4, 2018
Nice haunted house but the theme has been done so well already by the great series Ghost whisperer. Will check the real story.
½ November 3, 2018
What a load of absolute crap. I make a habit to see every movie I can with my sister and we both fell asleep halfway through this. Even the worst horror films at least have something entertaining, whether it is intentional or not but this had nothing. Nothing but boredom, terrible effects and a meandering plotline that goes nowhere.
November 2, 2018
I tend to like suspenseful horror films, slow burns with good atmosphere are ok by me. This one definitely qualifies as a slow burn. The problem is, Winchester didn't hang onto that atmosphere, it turned into a ghost CGI fest by the end and not in a good CGI way. I thought the acting was fine and the production quality (outside of the noticeable CGI) was well done. But nothing will kill a film faster than constantly showing obvious and lame CGI just because you can. Especially hated the climax where they went full tilt with levitating CGI Winchester rifles in the air. Just silly. I didn't hate this film- it was ok but it wasn't Lady in Black either.
Super Reviewer
½ October 30, 2018
Inspired by a "true" story, Winchester is an atmospheric supernatural thriller. While visiting the estate of eccentric heiress Sarah Winchester to conduct a mental health assessment, Doctor Eric Price notices several strange occurrences, including an attack on Mrs. Winchester, and learns that she's constructing an elaborate series of rooms to contain the ghosts of those who died violent deaths at the hands of Winchester firearms. Helen Mirren and Jason Clarke lead the cast and delivers fairly solid performances. But the storytelling is rather poor and the director doesn't really explore the strange and bizarre design of the house to any great degree. Still, there's an interesting mystery as to who or what is behind the attacks at the house. And, there are a number of creepy and suspenseful moments. Yet overall, Winchester is a mediocre horror film that doesn't live up to the mystery of the real house and the woman who built it.
October 28, 2018
Winchester is poorly written but has a decent premise, is wonderfully acted, and is really entertaining despite its slow pace. If you're a horror fan, ignore the ratings and reviews and give it a shot.
½ October 26, 2018
Don't waste your money.
October 18, 2018
Between 2 and 2.5. It alterates original legends and has no depth, but, OK, you can watch it to spend 2 hours.
October 16, 2018
People think that all you need to make a movie good, is to have it be based on a true story. This movie sucks.
Page 2 of 19