Winchester - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Winchester Reviews

Page 1 of 7
February 20, 2020
There are some clever set pieces, and occasionally we get a good sense of the strange reality behind the horror artifice. Occasionally isn't enough, though, and we could have had something special. It's not a bad movie, just a disappointing one.
November 7, 2019
No "scary movie" cliché is left unexplored in Winchester...
July 24, 2019
Lazy, prefabricated, and turned down by a script with serious internal coherence problems. [Full Review in Spanish]
July 24, 2019
Its cheap jump scares follow one another at a cruising speed, based on sound effects or worn-out tricks, and the film does not have a particularly original atmosphere. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 18, 2019
At this point in her career, Helen Mirren gets to dress like Marilyn Manson's dresser doily and yell at the ghost of a confederate soldier any time she pleases. The biggest problem with Winchester is it's nowhere near trashy enough to be captivating.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
June 3, 2019
There's so much potential in this story that it's a shame the final product turned out to be such a ludicrous mishmash of tired genre tropes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 9, 2019
All jump scares. No relatable characters.
Full Review | Original Score: D
April 25, 2019
The same standard jump-scare haunted house movie that you've seen so many times before,
April 9, 2019
This house is filled with stale air.
March 8, 2019
This film is slightly above average.
February 26, 2019
It's really boring and not scary in the slightest.
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 11, 2019
This movie is a lot of a mess, and I don't know if I recommend that you see this. I couldn't believe it.
February 8, 2019
It's a movie that seems content to wade in the shallow end of jump scares and other cliched tropes rather than actually explore a story that could have been engaged with some depth.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 15, 2019
A horror movie should never make itself feel harmless. Winchester does a very good job at being insipid. [Full review in Spanish].
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 26, 2018
Winchester is entirely forgettable and I'd be lying if I didn't admit to getting heavy-lidded during the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/10
October 25, 2018
Despite the presence of Helen Mirren, this is a dull, plodding horror film that could have easily taken place in any house and it really wouldn't have made any difference.
Full Review | Original Score: D
August 28, 2018
So we can appreciate the production value and performances of those caught within the turmoil, but there are no surprises to be had or drama to feel.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
August 27, 2018
It's not good. And it's not good in a way that's made worse by the fact that there's so much potential in this story.
August 25, 2018
Aw how cute. Lionsgate really wanted their own little "Conjuring" franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 22, 2018
Famed for lifting up sub-par productions simply by showing up, Helen Mirren should have been able to get a little something good going with Winchester.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7