Romeo + Juliet - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Romeo + Juliet Reviews

Page 1 of 1348
½ April 28, 2019
This is the worst movie I've ever seen. The updated setting with the old 1500's dialogue was so weird.
March 22, 2019
If you want to tell a modern Romeo and Juliet have at it, but don't make the incredibly distracting decision to have your actors try (and fail) to quote from the original play, and while Luhrmann has made a movie or two I've enjoyed nine times out of ten his style just doesn't do it for me.
March 22, 2019
It was all over the place, the language was out of context to the rest of the film, if you didn´┐ 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)t read Shakespeare you wouldn´┐ 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)t understand half of what´┐ 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)s going on
½ March 15, 2019
Terrible pacing and horrendous dialogue and editing. Would rather watch grass grow.
½ March 12, 2019
Did you knew that Juliet was only 13 while romeo was 18-23 years old that is illegal and this movie should be taken down everywhere because it promotes underage sexually activities
February 2, 2019
The best romance movie ever made!
January 28, 2019
Magnifico, unico, inimitabile,la migliore versione di Romeo e Guoietta che abbia mai visto!!!´┐ 1/2 1/2 1/2~(TM)´┐ 1/2 1/2 1/2~´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2?
January 11, 2019
Stunning performances by both leads leading the cast that follows along quite genuinely while the film gets crushed by its rhythmic dialogue and modern anthological style.
January 5, 2019
A very oddly made film, Romeo + Juliet has oddly placed action sequences, is quite boring, and terribly overacted.
December 16, 2018
A strange, modern version of Romeo and Juliet.
November 24, 2018
Another terrible, shitty, awful, no good movie that promotes a false story from Shakespeare's play by the same name. It was stupid as hell because the only reason why Romeo and Juliet couldn't be together in the end is because Romeo's crew, the Montagues, punked out on him in the end like a bunch of little bitches and left him hanging. I guess they were a bunch of pussies compared to the Capulet crew, Juliet's posse. Seriously, is it ever really that hard for a horny guy to get a girl? Stop being a punk ass bitch, knock on her father's front door, present yourself to her mother for inspection, and ask their blessing to take her out on a date. But if she tells you "no, thanks," kindly fuck off and don't stalk her. It's not fucking rocket science, idiots! The animals on Earth know better than you eggheads in Hollywood. ??
November 22, 2018
This movie is nothing less than brilliant. Amazing actors and beautiful colors, incredible.
October 3, 2018
this is by far one of my favorite movies ever!
September 27, 2018
Recently watched this film thought it was very good my only problem was I didn't understand any word of it I new it was Shakespeare language but I didn't understand much
½ September 6, 2018
I thought it was too dramatic
½ August 13, 2018
I really enjoy watching modern adaptation of Romeo & Juliet..I love Leonardo and Claire,they acted very good.Moreover,I appreciate Luhrmann in his creativity.
½ June 22, 2018
I find it extremely difficult to describe this film with words that are not related to trash. "Romeo + Juliet" is the final transformation of trash movie, but it has a particular characteristic: it hasn't been thought as trash. An example: good Asylum Production's movies are trash, but they're intentionally trash; "Romeo + Juliet" was originally thought as a kind of serious motion picture, but it is just garbage. But I cannot continue this damned review by repeating "This is trash, that is trash" so let's analyze the plot (most of garbage films doesn't even have it): it is Romeo and Juliet story in the late 80s! Ain't this crazy? But, but, the worst's coming: middle English words, expressions and even goddamned rhymes have been kept. What's worse than 80s guys speaking like minstrels? I think nothing. At least this is a kind of technical good work. Poor director! He's done a good work with the camera etc. but all that remains does not even deserve the half star it's been given. I propose watching "Romeo + Juliet" a new type of psychologic torture.
½ May 20, 2018
Spoilers Below!

I think that this movie was great because it helps young people to understand it more since it is in a different setting, but still traditional because 9it has the same dialogue as the original Shakespeare play. The acting is great and when Romeo died next to Juliet that was the best acting scene it the movie. I love how the director has these creative ideas to make old things like the modern one's today, for example, the longsword is a gun. I saw a ballet of the play and it was beautiful, but when I watched this it matched up because of all the vibrant costumes and the movement of the characters. The only thing that I didn't like was how fast the movie was going, but other than that everything was good.
½ March 16, 2018
While I personally didn't like the book, I can still see that this was a terrible adaptation. The decision to make it take place in modern day was confusing at best, since it added nothing and the dialogue remained the same. Several important scenes were glossed over, such as everyone's reaction to the deaths of the main characters (it's not a spoiler because everybody knows it). The acting, outside of the main cast (with the exception of Mercutio) is laughable at best, and obnoxious at worst. The cinematography was notably off, too, and combined with all of the problems with the book, this movie was a pretty miserable experience overall.
½ March 1, 2018
When I First Saw One Clip Of This Movie I Thought It would Be A New Interpretation That Did Not Steal From The Play, When I Heard Modern Characters Memorize Every Inch of The Play's Scrpit It Felt So Out Of placeI Felt the entire universe was in a mental institution memorizing every line. Also Leonardo Decaprio's Romeo Is So Forgetable All I Call Him Throughout The Movie Is Titanic Boy.
Page 1 of 1348