While We're Young - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

While We're Young Reviews

Page 1 of 11
September 12, 2017
It's a worthwhile field of enquiry, made into a strangely self-satisfied film.
March 14, 2019
A mostly breezy movie that's mostly very enjoyable and would have been great save for the uneven drama that emerges near the end making the film more of a downer than it needed to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
January 11, 2018
Baumbach's intelligence and uniqueness are evident in While We're Young. On the whole, though, the movie seems like it got lost on its search for some creative and human truth.
November 9, 2015
Naomi Watt's performance gives us a couple of good moments, but the film doesn't give us enough of that. [Full review in Spanish]
April 2, 2015
Struggles as it weaves anachronistic 'Look! Hipsters ride bikes! And watch video tapes!' commentary.
April 2, 2015
Noah Baumbach is still swinging away at generational divides and the plight of the artist, but here, he trades in his rapier for a foam rubber cudgel.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 13, 2015
While We're Young tries to be a lot of things, but ultimately the story left me frustrated. Like the characters, I left the film wishing about what could have been.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 3, 2014
Ben Stiller does what he does yet again in a familiar story of a middle aged couple invigorated by youthful friends set in the borough of Noah Baumbach.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 23, 2015
Noah Baumbach lobs jokes with hectic editing and a Sturgesian velocity, but much of this cross-generational comedy is frantic and wearisomely superficial.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 10, 2015
While We're Young may provide the fusion of two disparate narrative packages but the glass is only half-full.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 26, 2015
Putting one's finger on exactly what's wrong with "While We're Young" is a challenge. Best to use several fingers.
March 26, 2015
'While We're Young' plays like a screenplay that was several drafts away from hitting its target.
Full Review | Original Score: 5
April 6, 2015
Baumbach has a solid grasp of what it feels like to hit one of those life transition points but a far more tenuous sense of the hip milieu occupied by the younger characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 26, 2015
While We're Young is hurt more by its weak plot and resolution than anything else.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
March 26, 2015
it's too heavy a load for this slight chassis to bear
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 20, 2015
Cinema's most vicious, mean-spirited denunciation of the millennial generation yet
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 7, 2014
We know from his previous work that Baumbach is capable of writing much more interesting and full-conceived female characters than these, so the gender imbalance here is disappointing.
April 23, 2015
Much like Baumbauch's filmography, it's frustratingly uneven. Razor sharp at times, but mostly scattered and unclear, out to comment on a generational divide without much of a game plan to guide the feature.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 31, 2015
"While We're Young" is a movie that recedes while you're watching it.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 2, 2015
None of the characters have any kind of inner life, and they only exist in relation to Stiller's character.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 11