While We're Young - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

While We're Young Reviews

Page 1 of 11
April 16, 2020
An exhaustive and acid analysis on accepting the passage of time and leaving youth behind. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 9, 2020
It starts off as a familiar comedy of postmodern manners before opening up and embracing a wider world. Cheer up, it says to Gen X. Everybody's in the same boat. Get over yourselves.
November 13, 2019
While We're Young stumbles in pacing but contains a few sentimental moments and laughs that a mature crowd will enjoy.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.9/10
May 10, 2019
It's rambling, tonally indecisive and contains no one as charming as Frances Ha, but this well-meaning spiritual sequel shines for its wry humour.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 14, 2019
A mostly breezy movie that's mostly very enjoyable and would have been great save for the uneven drama that emerges near the end making the film more of a downer than it needed to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
January 22, 2019
Features a great cast with a great idea, but an idea that is never fully realized. It's a pay off not worthy of the film's very good opening half.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 7, 2018
A Poignant Comedy Made For Adults
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 3, 2018
If, in truth, the actual narrative never truly breaks free from Baumbach's conceptual concerns, it's still a really interesting watch just because those ideas are so prescient
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 28, 2018
While We're Young is wickedly on the nose in its depiction of men so self-obsessed they can't see who they really are - or who their friends are.
August 22, 2018
Has one of the smartest scripts you will see delivered this year. It's also arguably Baumbach's most mainstream movie to date.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 21, 2018
Baumbach is too subtle to offer simple moral lessons. Instead he pushes us to see that there's more going on here.
March 30, 2018
Filmmaker Noah Baumbach has infused much of While We're Young with a loose, freewheeling quality that's impossible to resist...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 14, 2018
While We're Young has the golden feel of a lifetime's obsession, the sense that Baumbach has spent so long observing the ghastliness of hipsters in Brooklyn that he now simply has to get it all down in one long, dramatic evacuation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 11, 2018
Baumbach's intelligence and uniqueness are evident in While We're Young. On the whole, though, the movie seems like it got lost on its search for some creative and human truth.
October 11, 2017
As a non-breeder, I admit to being pleased to find a rare film that dares to stand up for the idea that your life is valid even without children.
September 12, 2017
It's a worthwhile field of enquiry, made into a strangely self-satisfied film.
August 24, 2017
Among other things, Noah Baumbach's very funny While We're Young is a rumination on the Long Tail, the theory that pop culture remains accessible long after it's originally created.
August 21, 2017
The problem could simply be that Baumbach is too close to the material to know when to pull back.
May 11, 2017
Few movies are as perfect in showing the duality of ageing generations simultaneously distrusting the young whilst wishing they were young again - and even fewer are as funny and insightful as this.
April 26, 2017
Their foibles are ideal material for Baumbach who uses this fender-bender between Gen X and Millennials to tackle something real-rapidly shifting ideas of art, truth, and integrity.
Page 1 of 11