Where's My Roy Cohn? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Where's My Roy Cohn? Reviews

Page 1 of 5
July 30, 2019
Where's My Roy Cohn? concludes as a deservedly harsh examination of an infamous figure but its existence is nothing more than a checklist of Cohn's greatest hits.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 20, 2019
Matt Tyrnauer's scintillating, gossipy, heavy-handed documentary delves into Cohn's contradictions without much illumination.
September 19, 2019
There are plenty of reasons to hate Cohn. But, by wrapping those up alongside negative connotations about homosexuality and by cherry-picking sound bites like Michael Moore, Tyrnauer overplays a good hand.
October 23, 2019
Where's My Roy Cohn? presents all the evils enacted by Cohn, but doesn't know what to do once the facts are laid out.
October 23, 2019
Worst of all, Cohn might actually fancy this condemnation. In treating him as a devil, its most cogent argument is for the continued power and relevance of a long-dead man.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 18, 2019
Roy Cohn was way more entertaining than the new documentary about Roy Cohn.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 18, 2019
What could possibly fill a person with so much denial and self-loathing? But Tyrnauer's approach errs more on the side of book report than character study.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 1, 2019
Bad people tend to make for good documentaries, and Roy Cohn was one of the worst.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 22, 2019
So biased and clumsy it should be taught in film school as an epitome of artless advocacy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
December 4, 2019
The documentary does a reasonable survey of his faults and foibles, lining up those willing to plunge a knife, but it's neither definitive nor detailed enough to satisfy even a minimum standard of proof.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 12, 2019
Now that the fashionable Left has abandoned compassion -- and complexity -- this slicker-than-Michael Moore doc buries Roy Cohn as a paradigm for Machiavellian ruthlessness.
May 26, 2020
Director Matt Tyrnauer once again displays a remarkable ability to rummage around in our country's recent past as if it were an untidy closet, extracting painful mementos.
September 19, 2019
As a portrait of Cohn, the documentary is riveting.
October 4, 2019
This eye-opening tutorial convincingly draws a line - even more permanent than a Sharpie - between Cohn and Trump.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 2, 2019
After all these celebratory profile documentaries, it's a joy to see a film like Where's My Roy Cohn? in which the interviewees candidly portray the subject as an insufferably rotten bastard.
November 14, 2019
The film delivers high-speed tabloid journalism and rolls along swiftly. It's jammed with information that make shock the unknowing.
October 18, 2019
As the documentary explores the personal and political sides of Roy Cohn, it makes a strong case for how he shaped our current political landscape.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 1, 2019
This scathing documentary from the director of Scotty and the Secret History of Hollywood positions Cohn as evil early and often, for better or worse.
September 21, 2019
Where's My Roy Cohn is a jaw dropping doc which reveals the not so savory side of one of America's shrewdest, most brilliant legal minds who mentored folks like Donald Trump on how using the media, while twisting the law to your advantage. A Must See!
December 9, 2019
If you've ever found yourself wondering how American politics attained its current level of crazed amorality, Where's My Roy Cohn? provides a few answers.
Page 1 of 5