Where's My Roy Cohn? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Where's My Roy Cohn? Reviews

Page 1 of 5
June 22, 2020
However overwrought, Tyrnauer's movie forcefully illustrates Cohn's once cozy relationship with New York's rich, powerful, and privileged, many of them liberals and/or members of the media...
May 26, 2020
Director Matt Tyrnauer once again displays a remarkable ability to rummage around in our country's recent past as if it were an untidy closet, extracting painful mementos.
May 7, 2020
The two versions of Cohn, his public image and his private life, are fascinating and disturbing. [Full review in Spanish]
February 10, 2020
Outside of Adolf Eichmann's trial, I daresay nothing this individually monstrous has been seen on screen before.
January 6, 2020
There's nothing much new here, including the implication that Cohn was a key factor in the introduction of the combative, zero-sum style of modern politics. The film does manage, however -- maybe unintentionally -- to evoke a certain pity for Cohn.
December 9, 2019
If you've ever found yourself wondering how American politics attained its current level of crazed amorality, Where's My Roy Cohn? provides a few answers.
December 3, 2019
A brisk and interesting synopsis of man whose dogged pursuit of fame and power corroded any trace of personal morality.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 1, 2019
The film suffers to some extent from having such an unsympathetic subject - and the attempts to humanise him only serve to make his actual behaviour seem venaler. It is, however, timely enough, and fascinating in a reptilian kind of way.
Full Review | Original Score: 17/20
November 15, 2019
Lawyer Cohn apparently pulled many malicious stunts in his life. Now director Tyrnauer, whose sex swipes at dead movie stars in his last documentary somehow seemed credible, delivers a real hitjob that remains more absorbing than on point.
| Original Score: 3/5
November 14, 2019
The film delivers high-speed tabloid journalism and rolls along swiftly. It's jammed with information that make shock the unknowing.
November 1, 2019
This is a film that is a study in power and how one man shaped political discourse in ways that no one saw before, but has been elevated to new levels today.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 31, 2019
Prosecutorial as it is, Matt Tyrnauer shows us the weirdly whimsical side of the man... I guess even river scum must have professional courtesy.
October 29, 2019
Roy Cohn is dead, but as Where's My Roy Cohn? makes dismayingly clear is that his ghost still haunts us.
Full Review | Original Score: 4
October 28, 2019
Where's My Roy Cohn? could be a soap opera if it wasn't so real.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 25, 2019
... succeeds by digging deeper into Cohn's personal life and his public image, showing how a shadowy figure like Cohn gains influence and wields power behind the scenes, and persuasively connects his legacy to present-day affairs.
October 25, 2019
Director Matt Tyrnauer (previous documentaries include "Valentino: The Last Emperor" and "Studio 54") makes fine use of archival materials.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 24, 2019
Regardless of whether you think he was a man of integrity or the reason authoritarians have risen to power, [the film] is entertaining because Cohn was himself an entertainer.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 21, 2019
An effective, dispiriting documentary.
October 19, 2019
Incisive and informative if you're trying to understand today's amoral political landscape...
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
October 18, 2019
With its engaging storytelling, the film is a relevant look at history that has repeated itself; it's also character portrait that, while not penetrating, satisfyingly appeals to our fascination with evil.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 5