When Harry Met Sally - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When Harry Met Sally Reviews

Page 1 of 657
April 27, 2019
When Harry Met Sally⦠does something most rom-coms don't have the guts to do. Instead of presenting a couples meet-cute as the end-all, be-all of their relationship, it treats it merely as a wonderful anecdote. The truth of romance isn't the perfect, magical moments we tell at dinner parties, but is the endurance of the commitment and love. Reiner proves this through transcendently great characters and a unique series real-life vignettes of couples telling their own stories. That interest in familiar sincerity gives us a rom-com that's both honestly romantic and truly comedic, never sacrificing one for the other.
It's a ten-year journey of two people who hate each other, become friends, and inevitably but unintentionally fall in love; the kind of comedy Woody Allen could've made if he weren't so cynically self-obsessed. Ryan and Crystal get past their own professional limitations, stepping into their titular roles with endless likability. Their magnetic radiance helps sell every ever-changing aspect of their relationship.
But the script is the star here. The dialogue sweeps you up, having the bounce of old screwball-fare, but with a more naturalistic touch. Moments like "I'll have what she's having" have become so ubiquitous, we forget how perfect they really are.
Best of all, it manages to present the western stereotypes of men and women, while never defending them as absolute truth. Reiner and writer Nora Ephron use those stereotypes, certainly, but not as exact sciences so much as comedic tools, before upending them wherever possible.
This was at the pinnacle of Reiner's filmmaking streak, having a flawless knack for picking great scripts, and When Harry Met Sally⦠is arguably his crowning achievement.
½ April 26, 2019
Adorable. Quoteable. Great actors. Great chemistry. You feel for these characters and relate to at least one of them. A must see.
April 14, 2019
A fun, lighthearted romantic comedy with an unusually deep love story. Instead of a sudden sweeping romance, we're treated to a couple who've known each other for twelve years, took a dislike to each other, and went off with other people. Now newly single they get together as friends and things grow from there. It's touching how close they become without any romance, and believable that they wouldn't notice how ideal a couple they would make.
April 4, 2019
"When Harry Met Sally" is a classic movie in all aspects of the word. I truly think that it is the best movie ever made. Even now, twenty years later, it still holds up.

The writing is very sharp and it really explores what it means to be in a relationship and the nature of love.

Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan have perfect chemistry and were both at the top of their game when this movie was released in the summer of 1989. (Spoiler Alert)

It is clear that these two title characters are meant to be together, but it takes them a long time to figure it out. It's actually great to see the awkwardness around their first meeting and how that grows into a good friendship.

The influence of this movie is abundantly clear when you can see how many times the diner scene has been reenacted in commercials, other movies, television shows, and comedy sketches.

Maybe, I'm just a hopeless romantic but this story has always spoken to me. I've seen it dozens of times and I never tire of watching it. If I'm flipping through channels on the television and it is on, I will always stop, drop what I am doing, and watch it. There are very few movies that have that pull on me. I also have it on DVD so I can watch it whenever I choose to. And that's why this is my favourite movie of all time.

Here's a great piece of dialogue about marriage and the possibility of divorce.

Harry: "Right now everything is great, everyone is happy, everyone is in love and that is wonderful. But you gotta know that sooner or later you're gonna be screaming at each other about who's gonna get this dish. This eight dollar dish will cost you a thousand dollars in phone calls to the legal firm of That's Mine, This Is Yours."

Marie: "Harry."

Harry: "Please, Jess, Marie. Do me a favor, for your own good, put your name in your books right now before they get mixed up and you won't know whose is whose. ‚~Cause someday, believe it or not, you'll go 15 rounds over who's gonna get this coffee table. This stupid, wagon wheel, Roy Rogers, garage sale COFFEE TABLE."

Jess: "I thought you liked it?"

Harry: "I was being nice!"

How can you not love that? If you haven't seen this film, you're missing out. I highly recommend it and I'm sure, that for me, it will hold the Best Movie Ever title for another twenty years.
½ January 23, 2019
1.23.19 owned DVD @ home w/J
½ October 28, 2018
Surprisingly holds up in 2018 although I kind of hate Harry and I don't feel like his misgivings are really redeemed. Not that every rom-com male lead has to be someone I find delightful but most figure it out.
September 21, 2018
Reviewed 9.11.18 Can a man and woman be friends, given our hard-wired desire to couple up? Nora Ephron's script zips along, exposing the ridiculous lengths we all go through to find a life partner. It's honest, and from that wellspring of openness between Harry (Billy Crystal) and Sally (Meg Ryan), love is born. Ryan is at her charming best, she steals the movie. Rob Reiner checks off a list of landmark NYC filming locations. The stories of actual couples (presented by actors) interspersed between chapters adds welcome comedic gravitas. But it's the genuine chemistry between the two leads that elevates it to classic rom-com territory.

I saw it in the theatre in 1989 (way younger than appropriate), and it set the bar. It's insights are now common place, but it was fresh at the time. And although its hipness has aged, it's heart has not. I have heard it derided as a Woody Allen movie without Woody Allen. And that's a bad thing? It's funny, witty and endearing. Like the instantly classic scene where Sally proves a point to Harry over lunch, 'I'll have what she's having.'
August 31, 2018
A movie masterpiece with everything you need out of a rom-com. A genuine film of romance, wit, comedy and heart warming scenes. I could watch this movie over and over.
August 10, 2018
When Harry met Sally was a massive critical and box office success when it was released. This is a witty comedy set in the big apple and both Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan are in fantastic touch. They were both huge stars at the time and the respective king and queen of comedy, unarguably. The reason the film was so successful is because it taps into the omnipresent societal dilemma: Can a man and woman simply be friends and nothing more. Nora Ephron's screenplay is one of the finest examples of a funny screenplay and Rob Reiner is a master filmmaker who is in sublime touch here. If there is one comedy drama I would recommend you watch it is when harry met sally.
½ July 12, 2018
When Harry met Sally was a massive critical and box office success when it was released. This is a witty comedy set in the big apple and both Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan are in fantastic touch. They were both huge stars at the time and the respective king and queen of comedy, unarguably. The reason the film was so successful is because it taps into the omnipresent societal dilemma: Can a man and woman simply be friends and nothing more. Nora Ephron's screenplay is one of the finest examples of a funny screenplay and Rob Reiner is a master filmmaker who is in sublime touch here. If there is one comedy drama I would recommend you watch it is when harry met sally.(One of the greatest romantic comedies ever made).
June 25, 2018
a cult classic
long way from today's so-called cliche kind...
June 17, 2018
I'm probably one of the sappiest guys I know. Maybe even abnormally so. It is probably because I grew up with primarily my mother. As a result, I fall for the romantic comedy. I would like to think I like the more intellectually stimulating ones, but most people would probably say I'm fooling myself. I can't stand Pretty Woman, or any other Julia Roberts romantic comedy. Nor can I tolerate pure fluff. Again, maybe I'm naive, but I tend to like the romantic movies that do a little more than the normal romantic fluff.

When Harry Met Sally redefined (or defined, depending on to whom you talk) the romantic comedy. The dialogue, memorable quotes, flawless acting and directing, as well as the sparkling chemistry between two unlikely actors, When Harry Met Sally is a near-perfect story of two opposites who, over time, grow to realize just how compatible they really are. It's a hopeful friends-to-lovers progression that never seems forced. Rob Reiner adapts Nora Ephron's script and edits it to flawless execution. At no point does the connection seem unnatural. The audience is carried end-to-end and experiences the same maturity through Harry and Sally's relationship, recognizing the imperfections of each character and recognizing elements of each's life in their own lives. When Harry Met Sally set the standard and has been copied poorly by many wanna-bes, but it is the original and worth the time if you have never seen it.
June 12, 2018
When Harry Met Sally... is a 1989 American romantic comedy film directed by Rob Reiner.
Considered one of the top ten romantic comedies of all time.
GGNC 1001
April 18, 2018
Excellent movie, excellent writing.
March 28, 2018
One of the best romance comedy movies I have ever watched. Loved it.
February 24, 2018
1001 movies to see before you die.
February 15, 2018
As good as romcoms come.
January 17, 2018
When Harry Met Sally unintentionally suffers from the romcom cliches it inspired, but still tells an engaging story thanks to an amiable premise and heartfelt performances from its leads.
January 1, 2018
Pretty intriguing classic
December 31, 2017
Fantastic chemistry between Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan.
Page 1 of 657