Welcome to Marwen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Welcome to Marwen Reviews

Page 1 of 13
January 29, 2020
At It's Heart, There Is A Lot Of Love In This Story..If You Can Work Yourself Through The Guns & Violence, You Will Be Rewarded At The End. The CGi-Mixed With Animatronics Is Also Very Clever & Brings Poignant Vibes To The True Story Beginnings.
½ May 22, 2019
Robert Zemeckis se topa con un guion amigable y ingenioso, que por mucho que logres aceptar no es mas que una historia poco interesante y medianamente cautivadora, los increibles efectos y el talento de su casting no logran salvar del todo el argumento mediano con el que trabaja Zemeckis.
½ May 18, 2019
Bonus points for those who understand the meatballs reference.
Super Reviewer
May 17, 2019
Robert Zemeckis' latest focuses on the redemptive power of fantasy role play to heal damaged psyches (aided by positive real-world reinforcements). Special effects are extraordinary here that delve into the fantasy portions, but the writing feels dumbed down for broader audience acceptance, a mistake. Still an engaging look at the fragility of we who are human sensitively told.
½ May 16, 2019
Toast of a film (dry as hell)
May 15, 2019
Amazing that this is a true story!
May 15, 2019
Excellent movie. The action scenes were very exciting. Great to see all the women as protectors of the town. The detail of the doll rooms was fascinating. Moved along fast with just enough of the story to keep it interesting.
½ May 12, 2019
Started out interesting but gets extremely tedious, and the treatment of women in this movie really couldn't get more awkward.
May 10, 2019
Very long and boring
May 10, 2019
Contrary to many other reviews I enjoyed the film, I suffer with PTSD and understand some of the things experienced by the lead character and the chaotic and sometimes obsessive behaviours he shows. I think its a respectful look at the mental health issues suffered from their perspective instead of the usual approach of outside looking at the subject.
May 2, 2019
I mean, I really liked it, something fresh, and as always Steve Carell is the best.
April 29, 2019
This is definitely not going to be to everyone's liking but I was engrossed in this charming and emotive movie. It does require the viewer to commit themselves wholeheartedly to Mark Hogancamp's imaginary world, but having done so they will be thoroughly entertained. The visual effects are outstanding and Steve Carell is fantastic throughout. This is a brave piece of filming that is as brilliant as it is unique.
½ April 23, 2019
Welcome to Marwen is not perfect, but it is a touching look at the power of art and imagination that can help someone through trauma. Despite plot holes, the unique animation stuns, as does Carrell. Wear your best heels.
April 16, 2019
Very well done and emotional throughout.
April 15, 2019
The transitions from reality and the frictional town were choppy and didnt add to the story.
April 14, 2019
I actually found this to be an enjoyable film. I loved the back and forth of the real life vs. doll world parts of the film.
April 13, 2019
Brilliant movie with great, unique story that is well acted. Mesmerizing!
½ April 13, 2019
I liked this film; found it imaginative and more compelling than what I first expected. The Trailer did not really convey the true, serious nature Mark's journey to healing. The animation and compassion were both stellar.
½ April 13, 2019
2.5/5 stars
It was an OK movie. It is creative in its use of the dolls to tell the story and it is interesting to carry the plot forward flashing between real life and the action figures. But overall the movie is just OK.
½ April 13, 2019
Found it insuting to women. Twisted story. Troubled me even more when i found out it was true Where is the metoo movement?
Page 1 of 13