War for the Planet of the Apes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

War for the Planet of the Apes Reviews

Page 1 of 129
April 4, 2020
Ok, great special effects, but this film underwhelms, as does it's predecessors + this movie doesn't half drag!
½ May 9, 2019
Maybe the best installment of the series...gives a fan anything he or she could want from it
May 4, 2019
War for the Planet of the Apes was gut-wrenchingly epic. Andy Serkis gives the best performance of his career, the visual effects are stunning, and the visual storytelling is down-right poetic at times.
½ March 27, 2019
Strengths: As always, when you talk about this series, it has to begin with the performance of Andy Serkis (Caesar). He continues to be absolutely captivating in the role. The best thing this trilogy did was completely ensure that Caesar was a layered character with many human emotions. The combination of a strongly written and developed character and a great performance from the actor makes for something special. I think Woody Harrelson (The Colonel) is also a great addition. He‚(TM)s a villain who you detest and he steals the show in his screen time. There‚(TM)s one scene where he and Serkis don‚(TM)t say a single word during a faceoff and it‚(TM)s masterful. Some of the best stuff I‚(TM)ve ever seen from either guy. I liked the bond between Maurice (Karin Konoval) and Nova (Amiah Miller). It was sweet and helped give us someone to cheer for on both sides of the feud. The special effects are once again stellar and the actual war scenes we get near the end are very well done.

Weaknesses: Notice how I said ‚war scenes near the end.‚? This movie is pretty falsely advertised. The title, poster, and trailers are sold it as a big war between apes and humans to cap the trilogy. Instead, it‚(TM)s the apes caught in between a war among human factions. Due to that, there‚(TM)s not nearly the amount of action you want in a film like this. It suffers from pacing issues because of that, with plenty of slow moments as they build and build. Unfortunately, the climax it gets to feels kind of flat for what they set up.

Overall: If this was more of a war, it would‚(TM)ve come across better. I enjoyed the story and didn‚(TM)t hate the slow build, but it doesn‚(TM)t feel like the satisfying stuff we needed at this point in the series.
March 3, 2019
This one dives straight into the horrific circumstances more than ever in the franchise. I was expecting a fun Western, which it's not. But that doesn't make it less of a film than any of the other ones. The amount of humanistic quality given to Caeser in here is truly mesmerizing to watch.
March 3, 2019
Focusing on dark drama and historical parallels which make this finale an uncomfortable watch, but one worth investing, War ends the Apes trilogy with its best film yet.
February 20, 2019
Absolutely epic movie and trilogy. Andy Serkis is a genius. Thoroughly enjoyed
February 12, 2019
War (as arguably miss-titled as it is) is once again on top of its game, with a more intense story, the effects looking better than ever, some genuine surprises and shocking moments, and the A-game acting. This trilogy has truly ended on a high note
February 6, 2019
So so so good. But humans are such a disappointing species. It's sad that we never seem to learn from our mistakes.
½ February 2, 2019
False advertising. Look at the poster, watch the trailers. The "war" that was promoted lasts about 15 minutes. This movie was just like the 1st one, trying to break out of captivity.
½ January 28, 2019
Es una pelŪcula espectacularme echa cesar , simplemente brillante , es una pelŪcula muy emotiva mŠs de una vez te rompe el corazůn gracias alas actuaciones de los simios , muestra hasta donde puede llegar la maldad humana , el ķnico punto negativo es el villano que no aporto nada , fuera de eso la pelŪcula es casi que perfecta es un 9.0/10
January 25, 2019
This series is a chore to watch. Drab and slow almost the entire time.
½ January 20, 2019
yup lives up to expectations
January 10, 2019
This film deserves all the praise in the world. I cant say too much about it without spoiling it, but just understand that there will never be a dull moment; and everything connects together for a reason. Breathtakingly gorgeous film, and of course, absolutely amazing acting by Andy Serkis (Caesar). See this film, no matter what the cost may be.
Super Reviewer
January 9, 2019
You know, I threw this idea around last year (I think) with my review of Mad Money and that was coming up with a few to do some really quick and short (like less than 300 word) reviews for one movie per week. It never came to fruition, as it should be obvious. I think I drone on for far too long on purpose, subconsciously. Like my brain is not satisfied with a review if it's too short for one reason or another. Regardless, it's something that I should SERIOUSLY consider doing now as a result of the fact that I don't have a lot of time before I watch another movie tonight and I fucking HATE not finishing a review prior to watching that night's movie. It makes this feel like work since it's piling up. I have to finish the prior review and then review that night's movie. It's too stressful for me. Regardless, this is being written on Notepad on Windows, as my internet is being a fucking dick tonight (and will be for the next week or so, though I'm hoping it won't) and I cannot watch either Netflix, Amazon or any other streaming service. So I need to churn this one out quickly. I won't, but I probably should. With that said, I've always found the idea of a "summer camp"/getaway/etc framed as if you were actually in a horror movie to be an interesting idea. One that I would probably, if I had the money, engage in gladly. This movie uses that as its concept and it's one that I was intrigued in seeing how it played out. I seem to always say this a lot, particularly when it comes to movies that attempt to subvert the usual horror (slasher in this) tropes and how they go about it. In relation to this movie, however, this isn't quite as clever as You Might Be The Killer and even I had a lot of issues with that movie. In fairness to this movie, however, I don't think this was meant to be as cute and winky with its narrative as YMBTK was. Interestingly enough, this is more of a deconstruction of Alex's relationship with Nathan and how Alex's past, she was a drug addict, catches up to her in some really serious ways. I think the movie works best whe it is exploring their relationship and how Nathan, someone who worked at the rehab she went to, might not actually be the best for her and her health, in spite of Nathan's desire for Alex to be sober. To that end, they explore her relationship with Jared, who was also a drug addict, and how he, in spite of his addictions, truly, legitimately cares for Alex. How they explore this dynamic within the setting of the slasher getaway (or whatever you wanna call it) is surprisingly really interesting. This is a MAJOR SPOILER but, essentially, the whole Slasher Sleepout is orchestrated by Nathan, whose friend owns Slasher Sleepout, in order to test Alex's dedication to him and their relationship. He goes so far as to kidnap Jared and make him a part of the game. All to test whether or not Alex is truly committed to their relationship. But the lines between what's real and not are blurred as a result of Nathan's psychopathic behavior. He tells Alex to legit kill Jared to prove herself to him. When Alex refused, Nathan just ended up doing it himself. I find that to be really good, it's just that getting to that point (this is literally the last ten or so minutes of the film) means sitting through a lot that, in the long run, ends up being unimportant as this was all an elaborate prank on Alex until Nathan reveals his true intention. I do think that robs the movie of its impact. In many ways, this is very much like April Fool's Day except, at the end, it ended up being all too real for Alex. And I guess that's the movie's point, but I don't think the horror is truly that great to begin with. I think to make this work, even if it ends up being an elaborate prank, the horror has to be on another level. And this movie's horror isn't that great. This might be as a result of its budget, who knows, but it just didn't really lend itself to me truly investing in what these characters are going through. I like Alex as a character, I think she has a really interesting arc and I do think the movie has some cool ideas about Alex's relationship to Nathan and Jared, but they leave those for way too late in the film for it to make any real major differences. The cast is perfectly decent, if inconsistent. Larry (I think) is the smarmy, jokey horror fan and he's a bit annoying. Everyone is kind of a stereotype and that's fine, given the result of the Sleepout. I don't know if this review is long enough, I can tell much better on GMail, which is where I normally write these reviews, but I think that's enough for this movie. Decent concept, decent execution. I just think the payoff of it being an elaborate set-up by Nathan to test Alex's commitment to him took too long to get to and the horror we got to get to that point isn't really that good enough to make up for the film's relative lifelessness. It's still a decent enough movie, but I don't think it's ever gonna be seen as anything more than that.
January 9, 2019
One of the best films of 2017. This might be the best of the new trilogy with the Andy Serkis giving an emotional performance as Caesar. This might be the best trilogy in recent memory.
Super Reviewer
January 9, 2019
With more nods to characters from the original series of films, more of the apes gaining distinct personalities, Caesar showing some grey hairs and therefore the weight of the years of struggle, and more social commentary on the history of human wars this science fiction franchise concludes its new trilogy by holding an often used mirror up to our many flaws. Harrelson as the one notable human character channels an Apocalypse Now type Colonel. The development of the ape culture, especially when they are not strategizing war tactics is great fun to observe. Calling them animals and denying their emotions and desire to care for their families is something of course that this franchise cautions us about. We should be careful how we dehumanize those who we start wars with. It is not really an either/or question of survival. On top of this anti-war philosophy is of course two sides fighting their hardest with many thrilling explosions, horseback charges, and guerrilla (pun intended!) surprise attacks. A Spartacus like rebellion including apes banding behind an inspirational leader will also get your heart pumping.
January 3, 2019
While easily the most emotional entry yet, the feel good vibe of the previous 2 installments is lost. You will suffer with the heroes and leave queasy and depressed
January 1, 2019
This movie had some scenes were it gave me the chills, in a good way. If they do want to connect this to the original movies, which I hope they do, then for the most part they did good. Yes it would be weird for her to be the same Nova, and odd how the main character is named Caesar. I am sure they could tie it in some how and give an explanation. Overall good movie, even if they want to separate themselves with the original, but I think they could tie this in with the original Planet of the Apes and have the dreaded Beneath the Planet of the Apes be the ending.
December 29, 2018
A beautiful ending that will tug at anyones heart strings.
Page 1 of 129