Vampire Academy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vampire Academy Reviews

Page 1 of 67
April 3, 2019
This probably will never be the franchise starter they wanted it to be but it does excel in its own way.
March 12, 2019
its a fun and kind of "easy" movie to pass time with friends at first its hard to get the plot and the characters are hard to understand but everything gets kind of clear at the middle of the movie, the villians goals are not really understandable but after all its an okay movie you can pass some time with it
February 19, 2019
Well - I love it!
Sure, it has it's weak points. Yes, there is a lot of rushed world building. BUT other things like the humour and the GREAT performances of Zoey Deutch and Danila Kozlovsky as Rose and Dimitri totally make up for it!
It is a good book adaptation!

I would have LOVED to see the sequels!
½ February 3, 2019
Why did I watch this? I think my cousin was trying to kill me. Just, don't come near it. Save yourselves.
½ November 29, 2018
This is by far my favourite book series. I´┐ 1/2(TM)ve read it 10 times. And I feel as though this movie didn´┐ 1/2(TM)t do it justice. It wasn´┐ 1/2(TM)t horrible it just wasn´┐ 1/2(TM)t what I wanted for the movie and how I thought it should of been. They made it into mean girls with fangs when it is a story about friendship and the bond they share, yes but it is also a epic love story between rose and Dimitri and they don´┐ 1/2(TM)t show that! I loved zoey for rose but that´┐ 1/2(TM)s about all I have for this movie as far as good criticism

However that being said I would still go see the rest of the movies if they were made
½ October 28, 2018
For a film that from the first makes it absolutely clear that these are not your typical undead vamps-neither of the Twilight type nor the Stoker stock-everything here is pretty much devoid of life. Apart from the two leads, the acting is as wooden as a stake, and the stakes as shallow as a pauper's grave. If this were a werewolf movie, I would say "woof"-but seeing that it's about vampires, I'll just say it sucked.
September 30, 2018
Vampire Academy is impressive the way it over-explains everything, yet says nothing of substance. This movie tries so hard to prove that it's cooler than the movies it's ripping off, but it's constantly tripping over its own feet and falling flat on its fangs. From the melodramatic acting to the paper-thin plot to the cheesy special effects, this movie is one big misfire.
July 5, 2018
This was the most amazing wonderful book. This was also the worst movie on earth. The ending went so far off script that I like to think of this movie as a fan fiction. I'm so glad that they decided to not butcher the rest of the book series.
June 22, 2018
I personally think that this is an amazing movie. But, it is not as good as the book.
May 13, 2018
way better than i thought it was going to be, poor trailers... MUCH better watching the whole thing. VERY close to the books and story line.

the overall acting is very close to what i pictured in the books. the actual faces... not so much. this was definitely a guilty pleasure even for those who haven't read the books. a little bit of everything. Action, adventure, paranormal, comedy, romance, mystery, drama... quite fulfilling if you ask me
March 12, 2018
I love this movie!!! It almost brought me to teArs how closely it fOllowed the book, I love the movie its what made me want to read the books!!!
March 7, 2018
i did not like the writing/script. feels like the movie squeezed in too much in one movie for people to understand what is going on.. acting however was actually good.
February 17, 2018
Nice movie to watch on a sunday afternoon. although there is way too much direct explanation, it's a sweet, simple high school story.
November 17, 2017
It was a great movie!!!!! It is so funny, I loved how Rose protected Lissa and took care of her.I am probably one of the most unbiased person who watched this movie. I stumbled across it and I Loved It. I had never heard of the books before I watched the movie so I had nothing to compare this movie to at first and I loved it a lot...... and then I read the books and I loved it even more . Lol when I saw I there was more books I started looking for another movie and found out abut a week ago we couldn't raise enough for a second movie (frostbite) I literally cried for so long because I was to late I watched the movie in 2015 and couldn't help raise any money I'm still really sad , I kinda thinking a show would've done better. I really recommend the books and movie.
½ October 15, 2017
I'm now officially a bigger Mark Waters fan than I was before, which I already was one a fan! I love Zoey Deutch, and she kills it in this. I thought everyone else did too! I'm not a fan of vampires, or Twilight, but for some reason I liked this! I thought it was pretty well directed, but the writing definitely could have used some work. He's written some other things, most notably the only writer of Heathers, but I just think he mostly only got the job because he was Mark Waters' older brother.! That doesn't bode well for the movie, and is a pretty bad situation all around.! I thought it was really well shot, and had great colors, as well! I overall actually really enjoyed this movie, and would probably even watch it again! There's even some action here and there, that's not too bad! This is definitely a guilty pleasure though, as the enormous amount of hate would show shows! But now I really think Mark Waters can do no wrong, and I wanna see whatever else he's done, and is going to do, probably regardless of the reviews! (I'm gonna have a hard time watching Bad Santa 2, as I didn't like the first one, so maybe I won't do that.)
October 7, 2017
Better than Twilight, it's like a combination of Harry Potter, Mean Girls and Twilight!!!
September 20, 2017
While it does add some interest to the fan base, the movie itself lacks any appeal. The movie barely follows the plot of the first book and adds its own twists that were explained better in the book. Overall, a massive disappointment.
September 20, 2017
I love the movie. it has action, comedy, romantic, and sci-fi . I love Rose and Dimitri forbidden love. I would see it a thousand times.
September 17, 2017
zoey deutch is cool sexy funny in this movie she gets skills on vampire academy
September 12, 2017
LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS MOVIE! I liked it so much I've read all the books! Wish they would make a sequel
Page 1 of 67