Vampire Academy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vampire Academy Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 24, 2020
It turns out my first assumption was correct and it is garbage.
April 24, 2020
It felt very Disney Channel Original movie.
December 11, 2018
The gothic sets and oxblood colour palette are ripped straight from a Heart video. The frenetic pacing, more appropriate, perhaps, for a first-person video game, had me craving a Ritalin Latte.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 9, 2017
Another young-adult adaptation bites the dust.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
September 8, 2017
[Vampire Academy] is cheesy, derivative and filled with simply drawn characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 15, 2019
The movie offers 104 minutes of breathless exposition, just one elephant-sized plot dump after another.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 7, 2014
Vampire Academy is just another failure in a long line of similarly structured experiences and quite frankly, the fact that there are six of these books blows my mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
February 7, 2014
Vampire Academy will likely only satisfy fans of the books. To most everyone else, it's another disposable addition to the growing pile of cheap YA movie adaptations.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 23, 2015
A film that attempts to satire the popular love triangle romances of the current day, yet falls into the same tired cliches of said films.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
February 7, 2014
Vampire Academy ultimately doesn't have much bite, but that doesn't stop it from trying to continually show its teeth.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 7, 2014
The only thing that distinguishes this teen-magnet wannabe from its predecessors is how lazily it appears to have been slapped together.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 2, 2014
Rarely have I felt such disconnect between material and the actors tasked with performing it as I did with Mark Waters' Vampire Academy.
Read More | Original Score: D+
March 27, 2014
I died a little bit inside.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 7, 2014
Only a fraction of the scores of attempted jokes work, but it's still funnier than it has any right to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 14, 2014
I can't speak for Richelle Mead's novels, but I'm assuming they read like the instruction manuals for a role playing game: there are both too many, and not enough, rules.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
May 23, 2016
What's saddest of all is that the Gen Y audience this is meant for will be so busy texting during the film they won't notice how poor it is, they'll love it -- and there will be a sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 7, 2014
Most of the time, the actors are working so hard to keep us up on developments in the plot that they don't have time to fill in character details.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 7, 2014
Ultimately more "Meaningless" than "Mean Girls," "Vampire Academy" is a busy, overcomplicated empowerment fantasy with more hormones than brain cells.
February 28, 2014
The screenplay by Daniel Waters, the director's brother, is stuffed with puerile dialogue, all the more disappointing given that, back in 1988, he wrote one of the best school movies, Heathers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 10, 2014
I thought it was a complete mess. I thought the teenage dialogue was puerile and that was a shame because Daniel Waters wrote the screenplay for HEATHERS, which is one of the really nice films about school but that was a long time ago.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 3