Vampire Academy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vampire Academy Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 24, 2020
It felt very Disney Channel Original movie.
April 24, 2020
It turns out my first assumption was correct and it is garbage.
October 15, 2019
The movie offers 104 minutes of breathless exposition, just one elephant-sized plot dump after another.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
December 11, 2018
The gothic sets and oxblood colour palette are ripped straight from a Heart video. The frenetic pacing, more appropriate, perhaps, for a first-person video game, had me craving a Ritalin Latte.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 10, 2018
The young women in the disjointed Vampire Academy are out for blood but the rest of us will be itching for the next available transfusion after witnessing this dismissive, fanged fable.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 14, 2018
Vampire Academy is entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 14, 2017
In spite of using the standard elements of a high school drama (read: Mean Girls-meets-The Princess Diaries), Vampire Academy doesn't suck (pun intended)! It's about friendship, high-school crushes, romance and much more.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 8, 2017
[Vampire Academy] is cheesy, derivative and filled with simply drawn characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 9, 2017
Another young-adult adaptation bites the dust.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
June 21, 2016
Vampire Academy is often more fun than many brainless supernatural tween films.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 23, 2016
What's saddest of all is that the Gen Y audience this is meant for will be so busy texting during the film they won't notice how poor it is, they'll love it -- and there will be a sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 20, 2015
...I hoped for better but am not displeased with slightly messy, campy but funny and entertaining vamp dramedy I got.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 14, 2015
It's too transparently a ploy to hook teenage girls by combining vampires, Hogwarts, and princesses, three things that teenage girls presumably adore.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 23, 2015
A film that attempts to satire the popular love triangle romances of the current day, yet falls into the same tired cliches of said films.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
July 27, 2014
The action is underwhelming and the plot muddled, taking so long to explain the saga's complex mythology that there's no time left to flesh out the characters. Which is a shame, as Deutch's heroine has a sassy spark.
July 2, 2014
Rarely have I felt such disconnect between material and the actors tasked with performing it as I did with Mark Waters' Vampire Academy.
Read More | Original Score: D+
March 27, 2014
I died a little bit inside.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 18, 2014
Richelle Mead's sharp series of young-adult novels might have been better off being adapted for longform TV, rather than the big-screen blunting they cop here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 15, 2014
Joining the painful list of Goth-drenched Twilight franchise wannabes - Mortal Instruments, Beautiful Creatures, Dark Shadows - comes a half-baked, yappy stab at blending sexy Undead girls into a teen high school comedy..Even hardcore Goths will be bored.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 10, 2014
I thought it was a complete mess. I thought the teenage dialogue was puerile and that was a shame because Daniel Waters wrote the screenplay for HEATHERS, which is one of the really nice films about school but that was a long time ago.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 3