Uptown Girls - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Uptown Girls Reviews

Page 1 of 378
½ May 5, 2019
Fanning and Murphy compliment each other well. The main characters lead un-relatable lives and convey oppositely strong personalities that are hard to resonate with. Nonetheless, they somehow manage to pull on your heart strings and convey a couple of meaningful messages as well as overall strong performances. Brittany Murphy is a ray of sunshine and Dakota Fanning is convincing and at times heart wrenching.
½ April 27, 2019
Surrendered to be cliched and struggled to mostly maintain the ideological focus that has threatened to sidestep the emotional center, it's still a sweet satisfaction over the charming dynamic of Murphy and Fanning while being decently nuanced. (B)

(Full review TBD)
½ April 1, 2019
A heartwarming kids movie with good chemistry coming from Dakota Fanning and Brittany Murphy. Both play two different characters but you enjoy seeing them learning to like each other. Dakota Fanning acts like an adult throughout the film kind of like her performance in The Cat in the Hat but in the end she becomes a normal little girl and Brittany Murphy becomes the mom that Dakota Fanning never had.
January 4, 2019
This movie is my WHOLE CHILDHOOD. RIP to legend Brittany Murphy, this movie made me laugh and weep and if you dismiss this movie as obnoxious fluff then you're a misogynist sorry!!! I stan forever. Also Sheets Of Egyptian Cotton is a timeless bop. bye
December 8, 2018
the only people that wouldn't like this movie are film purists with sticks up their asses or middle aged men. it was a good, wholesome movie.
July 20, 2018
Great movie and even better Soundtrack.
May 16, 2017
This movie is an incredible example of a friendship between an adult and a child, and how adults can learned from the young people in their lives. It's a bad example of a chick flick because the romance takes a total back seat to the relationship between Brittany Murphy's and Dakota Fanning's characters. It's a story about two young women figuring out life, and grappling with death. It's so powerful and incredibly underrated!
February 8, 2017
THIS MOVIE HAS IT ALL!
You'll laugh, you'll cry, you may even die a little inside... But it's worth it ????
½ December 30, 2016
A comedy that tries to be serious, to the point where I found myself spending far more time feeling sad than laughing.
June 9, 2016
An alright movie. Not that great.
April 23, 2016
Unbearably obnoxious adult coming of age tale seemingly directed at preteen girls.
January 17, 2016
Brittany Murphy and Dakota Fanning are cute together, but this was a lot heavier than I expected. The ending was very cheesy too, but otherwise it's not bad movie. (First and only viewing - 7/6/2015)
November 27, 2015
Such a good movie with a very eyes opening scripts and characters. It also made me cry though
½ August 2, 2015
I personally love this movie from when I was younger, but re watching it now I can see why it got bad reviews. Very silly and odd
June 23, 2015
Murphy is good, fanning is a little bitch, the music is somber, and everybody cries a lot. Not exactly my kind of movie.
April 9, 2015
need to get this on flixster
February 17, 2015
Rich girl loses everything and must take a job as caretaker to a bratty rich girl.
February 14, 2015
An easy-to-watch movie, and exactly as predictable as you'd expect. Good for a Saturday afternoon.
February 1, 2015
In a regular day, my best friend was watching this movie, and I was wondering what she thought of it as I get curious about things like this. My best friend says that she loves it which I was wondering if I should watch it and then she said yes. I was worried about Uptown Girls because it has bad reviews, and the trailer didn't made it better either. So I tried to ignore those and just watch the movie with an open thought. In a surprising moment, I actually liked it, I didn't love it like my best friend did, but I like it. At first with the beginning, I was hating the main characters and was finding them a bit annoying, but when the movie keeps going, I was starting to grow on them. I was a bit bothered that with Dakota Fanning's character, she don't like touching things because of germs, but there were moments that she was touching things that people already touch. The plot is formulaic, and the beginning was a bit hard to sit through. The middle and end got better however, it was funny, and the chemistry between Molly and Ray is good. I'm genuinely surprised that I even like the movie and my best friend's recommendation of movies are getting better from a bad start like Romeo And Juliet, to a masterpiece like Gone Girl, I was actually interested in Gone Girl until she said that it's amazing film which got me excited more for it, to a good movie like Uptown Girls.
Page 1 of 378