Unlocked - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Unlocked Reviews

Page 1 of 5
July 4, 2019
didn't care about this movie
April 18, 2019
Even with a solid cast, Unlocked is a generic spy-thriller that looks like it was made for television. I'm a sucker for spy movies (I'm on board for just about any), but Unlocked can't seem to do more than follow every spy movie cliches.

Noomi Rapace plays Alice Racine, a CIA agent working undercover in a community centre in Hackney. She's then lured back into the field after she was tasked to interrogate a suspect who may be involved in a biological terrorist attack.

Michael Apted's direction is very workmanlike, failing to give the movie any sort of panache so that it wouldn't look like every other spy movie. Peter O'Brien's script is so convoluted, filled with too many twist and turns that I gave up trying to figure out what the characters were trying to do. I particularly lost interest when the movie introduces Jack Alcott (Orlando Bloom) half an hour into the film.

Bloom's terrible cockney accent wasn't the worst part about the film. It was the way his character was written that was so laughable. Bloom isn't the leading man that was advertised. He has about as much screentime as the rest of the supporting cast (which isn't much). While all of the supporting character are pretty much Racine's superiors, Alcott is an ex-Marine who tries to steal a TV in his first scene and gets attacked by a dog in his last scene.

While Rapace tried her best, everyone else was on autopilot. None of the supporting actors looked like they wanted to be in the movie and were cruising through the entire film so that they can get their paycheques. All the supporting cast (Toni Collette, John Malkovich, Michael Douglas) don't seem to display their usual charisma. It's a shame because Unlocked has a cast that's pretty much on Bourne's pedigree.

Unlocked is simply too mundane to be serviceable. If you want to watch a decent British spy movie, watch Spooks. Even if you'll forget the film by the end, you'll have a far better time watching Spooks than Unlocked.
½ April 17, 2019
I like this woman. She's been a few things lately. Hard ass agent style roles. This film was entertaining, not fantastic, but worth a watch for sure.
February 20, 2019
Never heard of this movie and just happened to run across it on Starz one night. Loved it! There were enough twists and turns to keep me interested. Great cast.
February 2, 2019
Nooni Rapace is proving to be a decent choice for these roles. She carries it well. John Malcovich is in it too as basically his charismatic self.
It's a decent watch. There's no real surprises in it but it's interesting enough. Not too taxing on the brain cells and moves atva decent pace. I would hope there's a sequel because I enjoyed this one.
October 31, 2018
The plot of the movie seems very similar to a Jason Bourne movie. Still entertaining though! Noomi Rapace and Orlando Bloom played their roles well.
October 18, 2018
Unlocked is a disappointing film. It is about a CIA interrogator who is lured into a ruse that puts London at risk of a biological attack. Noomri Rapace and Orlando Bloom give terrible performances. The screenplay is badly written. Michael Apted did a horrible job directing this movie. I was not impressed with this motion picture.
August 11, 2018
So many good actors acting badly against a clumsy, tiresome script.
½ August 5, 2018
A lot of plot to fit into just over an hour and a half. Strong casting, directing and editing. The film always knows it is mainstream entertainment in an old school Bourne-esque. Yes there are clichés, especially the countdown timer. Pretty good overall and exciting.
June 17, 2018
Great movie for an afternoon. So many turns.
May 8, 2018
Predictable Anti-American propaganda piece. All you need to know what's going to happen is the cast of the movie.
May 6, 2018
Noomi kept me totally hooked to this spy-thriller! Her character is both balanced and totally smashing it. If you don't like female action leads, or really continual plot-twists and turns, then you'll probably find this hard to watch. If you like both these, then this is pretty awesome!
½ April 26, 2018
Se están poniendo de moda las armas químicas
April 26, 2018
Fast paced with lots of twists and an excellent cast. I liked it. Worth a watch!
April 19, 2018
This is a lot better than the critics give it. I'd watch a sequel. Plenty of action but the bad guy was pretty easy to spot early o but still worth a couple of hours.
April 18, 2018
Better than Bourne...
April 15, 2018
Another stupid spy thriller.
April 4, 2018
Decent production values don't redeem the trite plot.
As usual, it's the big bad Americans who are actually complicit in promoting and abetting terrorist attacks, blah,blah, blah. You know where the story is headed from about 3 minutes into the movie.
Performances aren't terrible so, if you can ignore the attendance of the film to superficial social fashion, you could probably get something from it as background while you play games on your tablet.
March 30, 2018
It's ok for Noomi fans, it has some twists, but the ending is pretty standard. Malkovich seems under-utilized here, but overall it's ok.
March 24, 2018
I am not sure why this movie is rated so badly?, I was pleasantly surprised having caught this on Netflix, it has an ensemble cast and the movie moves at a decent pace finishing in 1hr 38m, there were a couple of nice twists to keep me interested.
Those reviewers complaining about the predictable plot is par the course- I certainly think its better than or at least as good as any recent spy releases (November Man, Jason Bourne) I like the fact it stayed away from big set pieces ala The Mission Impossible Franchise and obligatory car chase scene. All in All a good movie.
Page 1 of 5