Universal Soldier - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Universal Soldier Reviews

Page 1 of 73
March 10, 2019
š¤¬ y'all, this movie was the shit!!! Lol
½ February 15, 2019
It's all nonsense but theres gore and plenty of action. A typical 90's action movie, great fun.
October 23, 2018
Iconic Van Damme and Dolph Lundgren both in there physical prime with a healthy serving of bare ass van damme.
July 24, 2018
Cashing in on the success of T2 came this shallow actioner that in the most part is hilariously bad. In large part due to Dolph's over the top villain who is unintentionally funny.
The story of the film is pretty simple but pretty effective for a Sci-fi action film and it delivers in the action department. The action is non-stop and keeps it entertaining enough to get through.
Basically if you want to turn your brain off and laugh at a cheesy action movie look no further.
April 16, 2018
After watching two of my favorite action stars in several recent movies (Van Damme and Lundgren), the nostalgia in me came about and I suddenly had a flashback to this flick. I rummaged through my attic VHS collection an had a sit down with Universal Soldier. I still remember seeing this on the satellite dish for the first time and being totally wowed by it. It was good to go back to that feeling of being a kid and not giving a sh*t about rent, bills, work etc. This is one of those flicks that makes me a seven-year-old again and I needed that kick. People who be hatin' on flicks like this, go at it all you want. I don't write this stuff because I am trying to give the final say on what people should watch. I like discussing movies, I like interpreting movies and these type of movies speak to me. I don't think these movies are dumb by any sense of the word. They're made to entertain us and for all the intense dramas and 'sophisticated' thrillers, we get the action flick with badasses ready to keep us amused without subplots or subtext. I, for one, can use them every now and again and this one is one of my favorites! A lot of hand-to-hand combat, fighting, guns, chase scenes and many moments of bloody violence! Not solely relying on action, the flick also kept the look and feel of the film and Roland Emmerich's amazing eye was on top of that. The color blue gave the flick a surreal look and the odd artistic touches he put in various parts was the cherry on top (all about those angles!) Granted, the film's plot isn't the most involving but it didn't want to be either. It still managed to bring some softer moments to the table. I didn't swoon over it but I still bought them nevertheless (especially when it came to Van Damme's character). Speaking of Van Damme, the man underplayed the part and it worked in his favor. The man's a great actor, period. Dolph Lundgren also shines and gets to showcase some pretty morbid moments. Made me forget his blah role in Stash House fairly quickly. Ally Walker made her role a lot better than it had right to be. She also made me chuckle (intentionally) a few times! Ed O'Ross is a major character actor and does no less than he has before. Shines as always. On the downer, the same reason I praised the movie was sort of what I fault it for. The movie didn't really delve a lot on the story side of things. There was some development in terms of the dualities in the 'human vs robot' side but then dropped to make way for the action. I can't complain but I would've liked some kind of payoff as I was invested once it surfaced. Alas, I didn't get it, but the substitute worked well enough in the meantime! This is a no- holds-barred, action-packed, well shot and (at times) funny flick that defines well what ENTERTAINMENT means to me. Loved the flick and will gladly see it again in the future!
March 8, 2018
typical lunkheaded roland emmerich/dean devlin stupidity.
½ January 15, 2018
The film was Roland Emmerich's entry into Hollywood, and I can see why.

Do you know that synonymous, if you only know a movie title because you know exactly that has 10,000 copies in the DVD store? (with 50 direct-to-video sequels or prequels)
That's just the case with "Universal Soldier", I just wanted to know how and where it all started. I also like to see martial artist trying on more serious film projects. But then I remembered "Roland Emmerich" and I knew what I had to get involved again.

Surprisingly, that was not the case. That is clearly one of Emmerich's best films but that does not mean much.

The story is pretty good in itself and I like the idea. In general, I'm always interested in any kind of weird science fiction but if you have not seen the first 5 to 10 minutes of the movie, then you might think it's just a normal soldier movie in which only a soldier went crazy.

But in itself I have to say the movie is fun because it does not seem so long, has some pretty good ideas and Jean-Claude Van Damme is pretty entertaining and funny in so many scenes. That I really have to ask the question if this man would be a good comedian. My personal favorite is when he sits in yours and just no matter what happens all the food continues to eat and continue to eat.
Dolph Lundgren is always better as a rogue (or as an anti-hero)

Nevertheless, we must not forget that this is a criticism and we must also remain critical the film has the typical Roland Emmerich problems. The pacing in this movie is rather slow. Now the action is filmed faster + good enough but the scene went by quickly before / after getting into a car. Otherwise you can wait a long time until something interesting / important happens again.
The battles are mediocre just like the love interest. (which one would not have needed in this movie but she has at least a narrative reason to follow him in the movie and it is at least understandable why they fall in love with each other)

But the saddest thing is that the movie had 3 perfect scenes to end the movie and all the problems mentioned at the beginning would have been quickly forgotten, NO!
Terrifyingly, the movie continues over 20 minutes because Roland Emmerich tried to make a double climaxx, but he did not understand how to build one that makes him worse and harder to deal with in retrospect.
And that costs the film another star.
August 4, 2017
Not 1 of van damme beat films but worth a watch if you haven't seen some good action in it
June 6, 2017
I mean, why ''Robocop'' could've been better than this??
June 2, 2017
best jean claude film
May 29, 2017
I'm really surprised how low the ratings are on this movie. Ok it's not a masterpiece by any stretch. As far as silly action movies go though, it's pretty good. The storyline is good, even though it's not necessarily believable. Dolph Lundgren is brilliant as sergeant Scott and it's got some great fight scenes. I feel this movie good benefit from a remake/reboot, if it was done right that is!
October 27, 2016
A Lame Terminator Wannabe Flick. Your Usual Rubbishy Action Plot. An Idea Lifted From Combinations Of War Stories & God-Mode Video Games.
September 2, 2016
Olin tän varmaan joskus nähnyt mutta ei ollut muistikuvaa kuin alusta lopusta. Hölmöhkö Terminator kopiohan tämä on mutta Dolph Lundgren on vedossa. Pitääkin ihmetellä miksi Dolphista ei tullut kovempaa tähteä kuin mitä oli. Onhan jätkä parempi näyttelijä kuin vastanäyttelijänsä Van Damme. *** /5
June 14, 2016
Dolph Lundren's performance is a gem of this movie.
June 13, 2016
A highly underrated movie, this movie is highly enjoyable Dolph Lundgren and Jean Claude Van Damme did a great job. 5 stars
June 13, 2016
Rival soldiers turned cyborgs fight for power in this silly, predictable paint by numbers action pic.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
June 6, 2016
In a weird sort of way this is a good little film even though the plot is abit silly, The action was ok, Overall an ok film even with its poor acting.
½ May 12, 2016
Military exercises for the pre-adulescent.
April 24, 2016
It was a passable 90s action movie. The plot was basic. The action very very gritty and violent. There was a lot more humor in the movie then I was expecting.
January 13, 2016
I just want to thank everyone who made this movie it was a Oscar winner to me
Page 1 of 73