Unicorn Store - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Unicorn Store Reviews

Page 2 of 14
½ April 30, 2019
ill try for the 4th time to reveiw this movie. Its complete garbage give it a miss
½ April 29, 2019
While it's not the best movie I've seen tell the story of growing up and childhood whimsy, it definitely made me ugly-cry with the unsubtle delivery of it's core messages. A film is supposed to show, not tell; but sometimes the viewer just needs to hear it said plainly, especially when they are going or have gone through similar scenarios.
½ April 29, 2019
No character development, terrible plot and juvenile message. In a life imitating art moment, Unicorn Store mirrors protagonist Kit's art presentation in the trailer. An incoherent mess with Brie Larson proudly standing before her monstrosity and honestly expecting praise for it.
April 29, 2019
I found the story rather weird, but I ended up watching it till the end and loving it.
April 29, 2019
Boring me and my wife fell asleep
½ April 29, 2019
This movie has no character development at ALL.
½ April 29, 2019
If I could I'd give this movie zero stars. Hated it, from Brie's unemotional face to the ridiculous plot
½ April 29, 2019
I did not watch the movie. But from what I know from the producers and directors, watching this movie would be a waste of 90 minutes.
½ April 28, 2019
Terrible movie. Story was terrible. Acting was worse.
April 28, 2019
Yeah, we get it, men on the internet are cross at Brie Larson.

It's a bit thin, but it's weird and sweet and a perfectly good way to spend 90 minutes on a Sunday evening.
April 28, 2019
Brie Larson's attempt at an insightful indie film was a valid one. The plot is one that is very simple. It takes the approach of a character in our regular world being involved with some sort of magical fantastical person and easily switching between the two settings. Brie Larson does not make a good main character to me, unlike our sidekick who is incredibly funny while still being plain. The tone is most likely the most developed part of the film, both the world and the store itself are both very clearly set with opposing tones and it makes the contrast very stark. The big problem is that it is not interesting. The concept of a weird failure of an art student finding her way does not really work well and the emotional scenes seem to fall flat because of the premise of the film. Samuel L. Jackson was wasted (but he looks fun).
½ April 28, 2019
Silly and sweet. Larson, as always, is very good and Mamoudou Athie is also charming. Don't expect to be blown away, just settle in for 90 minutes of charming fun.
April 28, 2019
I think this script was meant to skirt a parody of Manic Pixie Girl trope, to be so over the top that in no way anyone would take it seriously. Brie Larson took it seriously and it feels she plays herself in this. Her down to earth directing style does not fit this story, which is already to childish and naive for the women in the age group of the man character (I assume they were the target audience here, but the movie is in itself too childish for them to enjoy).
Coming from art school myself- Kit would be ostricised for being stupid and having little talent and dropped by school within a year- which is the most realistic thing about this movie. Can't relate in the slightest to her character.

(BTW, off topic, art school is hard. Anyone thinking that's good place for rainbow weirdos with big egos who like to draw- think again. Especially when you pass out after week long bender from oil media fumes.)
April 27, 2019
It was cute enough. It felt like it wanted to appeal to INFP/ENFP, but didn't quite have the authentic spark.
½ April 27, 2019
sucks.. just like brie larson
½ April 27, 2019
shit show of feminist agenda
April 27, 2019
True, you may like this movie if you love the whimsy, colour and childlike nature of the main character....but it had an underdeveloped love story and trash sub plots.. boring
½ April 27, 2019
A bit too whimsical for me. A shame is that Brie Larson is playing herself, while she has so much more range.
½ April 27, 2019
Such a stupid film, I'm not wasting any more time for this review as you don't deserve it.
½ April 26, 2019
Samuel Jackson couldn't even save this movie. They were both just terrible.
Page 2 of 14