Underworld: Evolution - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Underworld: Evolution Reviews

Page 1 of 1236
½ May 1, 2019
Underworld Evolutions is not a bad film. It is nowhere near what people make it out to be. The action is still stylish and spectacular and Kate Beckinsale brings her best to the role. Where the film just fails to be as fun and entertaining as the original is when it delves into the lore and story. This too was a flaw with the original, but unlike Evolutions that film knew when to abandon the story and just have plain fun instead. This film, though by no means bad, does not have that, and while it's still a blast, it's not as good.
March 17, 2019
Great movie 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2? 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2
January 20, 2019
I don't understand all of the hate towards this franchise, because this was an awesome sequel to a guilty pleasure of mind!
December 26, 2018
an incredible title that even surpassed the previous one I do not understand how the plot can be so misunderstood as the characters catch you.
August 3, 2018
I don't understand why people hate these films, because I for one enjoyed this film, for it is my favorite within the series.
June 30, 2018
Almost no plot and tedious action sequences.
June 5, 2018
Okay, so after the first Underworld which I unexpectedly not a fan of however I finally did watch the sequel Underworld: Evolution making sure I find it to be good than the first and, no. I didn't find it to be as good but yet not a bad film per say but I expect far more from this. Underworld: Evolution follows after Underworld previously where Selene fights werewolves and now in Evolution, she has to go and fight Markus Corvinus to protect the future from his hidden past. And he remember the flashbacks by stabbing and biting someone. Yeah I know Selene does the same thing. Okay, not the stabbing. Did I forget to mention that Underworld is the same thing as Resident Evil? No, I haven't. Other than that, I can't remember a thing about Underworld: Evolution apart from the constant werewolf fights and they're not as enjoyable but what can I say? It's for the fans. As much I find the first Underworld to be just okay, this one is mediocre but still all right but I wasn't a fan like I said. Will I watch it again? I don't know. I might have the same reaction if I did decided to watch it again. However I'm glad I've watched the first one twice and this one once. But if you do like Underworld: Evolution like the first one then this is probably for you and the fan base. Pop it in and judge for yourself.
January 14, 2018
A really enjoyable sequel! "Underworld Evolution" compliments the first film by continuing the story in a fun and exciting way, it still keeps the stylish/ sleek action sequences with great choreographed scenes. Kate Beckinsale returned as Selene very well and was really entertaining.

But just like the first, this is still pretty reliant on CGI and is pretty recognisable but no matter, this is still a really fun film.
October 27, 2017
looks action packed!!
½ October 24, 2017
Why do the people love this franchise, it's super dumb, the first was way better.
September 26, 2017
Underworld is a melodramatic franchise about warring vampires and wolves, in which people of different species fall in love. The blue-gray aesthetics are bludgeoning, the script is convoluted and convenient, and the lore is incredibly unwieldy. I constantly found myself checking Wikipedia just to keep up. It's definitely not good, but with moments of ridiculous fun in the action and a surprising sense of care in the filmmaking, at least I can say it's better than Twilight...but just barely.
August 13, 2017
Welcome to the Underworld
August 13, 2017
Serviceable sequel which adds little to the ongoing supernatural war story . . .
½ July 7, 2017
The story is more ridiculous but the action and creature design are top notch. Evolution is pure guilty entertainment about fanged immortals stuck in an eternal war for supremacy, and I'm alright with that.
½ June 29, 2017
Still hard to follow, but does better on the explaining portion then the first
February 26, 2017
Underworld Evolution is the sequel to UnderWorld and it's pretty bad. The movie shits all over the first film with its hammy writing with loads of continuity problems. This one is just really boring, full of uninteresting characters and boring action scenes with some pretty poorly developed characters. I'm a huge fan of Werewolves and vampire movies but this just doesn't have any of the cool stuff you would hope for in a good werewolf movie. The main werewolf/Lycan designs are still ugly looking like a mixture of a bear and a monkey altho with pretty good practical effects. Altho I do really like the look of the white werewolf/William towards the end of the movie having a more iconic and werewolf like appearance to him. Overall tho 1/5
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
February 11, 2017
Better than the first in terms of action, More gore and some nice effects too, I enjoyed the story even if it was predictable at times, Overall on par with the first and allot of fun.
½ February 4, 2017
Worthy sequel to a great film. 16% RT? Seriously, you should avoid rating certain genres as you're pretty dreadful at it to say the least.
½ January 7, 2017
1/7/2017: A very good sequel! Tons of action and a good story. Beckinsale in all leather doesn't hurt either.
½ January 6, 2017
Underworld: Evolution tried to built a plot where there really is no space for one. It gets very convoluted and heavy which makes it pretty unenjoyable.
Page 1 of 1236