Under The Shadow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Under The Shadow Reviews

Page 1 of 7
½ April 9, 2019
A technically flawless film, however it felt too familiar. It is similar to films like The Babadook, despite adding its own originality.
½ November 11, 2018
Simple but effective, 'Under The Shadow' blends real-life with the otherworldly, piggybacking on the tension of an already horrific situation (being caught in the middle of the Iran-Iraq war, never knowing whether you're going to be blown to smithereens at any moment) to double-up the terror. Relying on solid central performances from Narges Rashidi and Avin Manshadi, simple effects, and the imagination of the audience, it does an impressive job of creating an unnerving atmosphere that continues to build until the nerve-racking ending.
½ October 27, 2018
the Iranian boogeyman (djinn) is a black/white veil-hijab ...the political statement is veiled but poignant -- definitely some scary moments in this Iranian production, but could also use a bit more editing. The child, Dora, played by Avin Manshadi, is very good!
½ October 1, 2018
This is a pathetic film that has nothing but a few jump-scares to call itself a horror flick.

The lady is soooo irritating !
I wish the honorable Haji had given her the sentence he mentioned and to everyone associated with this film.
September 23, 2018
Brilliant, intense, and authentically harrowing..
August 25, 2018
Under the Shadow is masterfully directed, a slow-burn that blends the supernatural with the psychological, all elevated by a thoughtful mother-daughter story that wouldn't have worked without the Iran-Iraq war backdrop
July 20, 2018
It's hard to find a movie like this. It's startling and chiling without the blood and gore that so often ruins a film for me. I wish there were more movies like this out there.
½ July 20, 2018
Home-bounded cultural familiarity in film that's driven on subtle, genuinely timely subtexts while trying to put in some sort of ghost story that didn't do much besides lengthening persuasion with leakages of supposable chills in a small amount. This could be a persuadable instance in approaching a different, namely foreign, film with acknowledged background information to keep up with the period setting and urban legend. (B)

(Full review TBD)
June 27, 2018
Amazing acting, subtle yet effective cinematography and even some political commentary that doesn't feel blunt or tonedeaf at all
June 22, 2018
Proves that a horror flick doesn't need a body count to provide scares, the creeper under the bed will do it, so long as the film builds tension like this one does.
May 26, 2018
How can anyone give this movie 5 stars. The movie is so boring and not scary at all. The CGI is a joke. The mother is so mean, the kid is annoying. I was rooting for the evil spirit.
½ May 23, 2018
Under the Shadow is a 2016 internationally produced Persian language horror film written and directed by Iranian-born Babak Anvari.
This internationally co-produced horror film, set in Iran, weaves together various elements of fact and fiction in a clever way. It gives an interesting insight into life there during the 1980s. I am not a fan of the horror genre, but fortunately for me this film only has minimal scary elements.
1001
½ May 9, 2018
Really rotten tomatoes? This movie succcckkkkkeeeeeeeddddddd! I could only watch like half this movie before throwing up my hands and saying "who the hell cares"? If I don't give a darn after watching half the movie then why bother? The mother was terrible and mean to everyone! another movie to waste my time. thanks.
April 12, 2018
I was really sleepy but it was really scary.
½ March 4, 2018
just because its a middle eastern film all the critics think its soooooooooooooo groundbreaking, be honest it was a "C" at best whos afraid of flying quilts for fuck sakes!!! LAME!!!
February 24, 2018
Puntaje Original: 6.0

El problema con Under the Shadow es que parte con una premisa engaņosa, que hace que el segundo acto resulte desencajante.
February 10, 2018
It's good, though some annoying characters and cheap jump scares lessen its potency.
½ February 3, 2018
We are in Tehran in the 80s. There is a war going on and quite frequently our little family must run down the stairs to the basement of their building to take shelter from bombings.
That's the setting, but not the action. There are other horrors going on. The girl is seeing people, or "djinns". They take some of her stuff. Her father has left for a war related work, but her mother is home - having a hard time dealing wither her daughter's imagination.

This is a very fascinating film to begin with, slowly turning very creepy. It's pace is incredible and the story is both fresh and well presented. Angles and camera movement in a classic horror way, with some very nice scenes, camerawise.

It took me by surprize that a PG 13 film could be this scary. Sure, there is no blood or stuff, but there are some pretty spooky stuff and a big psychological aspect here. Great sound mix and a nice score here, with some splendid effects and a story that works very well. "The Babadook" and "A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night" comes to mind - solid films to be compared too. Uniqe, intelligent and impressive debut. Something more than a horror film, really.

7.5 out of 10 pieces of tape.
½ December 6, 2017
Not scary. Average movie at best.
November 17, 2017
Well based on Siri's recommendation of best horror movie to watch on Netflix I've started seeing it but till 45:13 nothing remotelly horror happened in movie.
Page 1 of 7